Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Ultimate Highlight of my European trip

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Location, the view, everything. The room is very spacious even though it is at a prime location. The balcony view is priceless.
Cons: The opening hours of the shops around Grindelwald. Everything seems to end at 5-6pm even thought the daylight is long...Not the hotel issue though.
Location: Jungfrau, Grindelwald to First, Canyon Walk. You will never be bored.
We chose a room with the snow mountain view & we were blown away. This is one of the best hotel you can stay in anywhere on earth. The view is great, easy access to Jungfraujoch which is a must view & there are many things to do there. It is just opposite the train station where you will alight & you just need to walk 5 meters to reach the hotel. The view is something that I feel that it is worth the whole entrance fees. Will stay there longer if permitted. Stayed for 2 nights & me & my wife are enjoying every moment of the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

Charming place

Posted May 19, 2017
This hotel sits by the train station (the trains are quiet) in the loveliest setting imaginable. The breakfast is yummy, w/fruit and yogurt and cereals, various breads and cheeses, and bacon and eggs. Juice, of course, and really good coffee drinks! It's convenient to everything in Grindelwald, which is small. Great hikes, restaurants, shops, gondola rides, etc are all right there. The staff was friendly--and they gave us a giant chocolate bar as a "thanks for coming" gift! Who doesn't love that? The room was cozy in the Swiss style, with feather blankets, and chocolates on the feather pillows. A happy stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bryant, Arkansas

Our Favorite!

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: The rooms were spacious, clean and overlooking the mountains. It had a refrigerator, so we didn't have to eat out every meal. Breakfast was very good.
Cons: nothing
Location: Next to the train stations, right in the little town. It was great location for us. We walked everywhere, but that could be a long walk for some.
This leg of our European vacation was our favorite. Hotel Derby was a great find. It is right next to the train station, so we didn't have to lug our bags around. Our room had a balcany overlooking Mt. Eiger. Words cannot express the beauty of this place. Perfect. We walked everywhere, but it is very hilly and could be too much for some. We enjoyed the gondola up the mountain and the gorge walk and the trails/hike leading to it. The staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast is very good and plentiful. The little town of Grindelwald is quiet and peaceful. We will stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel good location

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Good functional hotel clean room with coffee making facilities Breakfast very good. Can't get better location right on railway platform and close to shops
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Close to the train station. Staffs are nice and helpful. Room is clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is right next to train station which is very convenient, and it's only 10 min walk from the First cable car station (hotel offers a visitor card which allows us to take the bus for free). Room is a bit small, but very clean, quiet (even it's beside the train station!), warm and comfy! I particularly like the balcony which has a stunning view of the town. All hotel staff is friendly and helpful. I can feel the hospitality of Swiss people from every hotel staff :) Will definitely come back next time!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel location was perfect.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Hotel was located at the train station. hotel staff was very friend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great View

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
The front staff was great. They helped us find hiking trails as well as being very friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and lovely hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful stay! Complimentary upgrade to a junior suite with amazing views. Staff was friendly and the included breakfast buffet was one of the best I have had in Europe! Will highly reccomend to family and friends.