Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Trevor from La

Gstaad hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
It was a great experience and simple clean hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay in off season

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Location: Right next to Gstaad lifts
Friendly front office staff. Good sauna facility downstairs. Room 32 was a great two-story apartment with loft, perfect for stay with two kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, Florida

One of the only options but good

Posted Nov 16, 2015
We came for a night in the very off season. Most hotels in Gstaad were closed for the off season. Alphorn was reasonably overpriced and about 15 minutes walk from the Gstaad train station. The whole city of Gstaad was really beautiful but closed by 7 in the off season. Had dinner at the hotel restaurant which had a good menu selection and good service. The food was good and as is the norm in Switzerland, overpriced for what it is. The room is a bit dated but clean and comfortable. 2 sinks in the bathroom. Slightly hard beds according to American standards. Main complaint. My room was on the 2nd floor. Starting around 9 pm there was loud music, shouting and partying going on until some time around midnight. I checked and it was from the bar downstairs. I eventually put in ear plugs and did my best to sleep. Breakfast was what I would call continental European. Good cheese and bread choices. Salami, cook your own boiled egg, juices and jams, cereals and Nutella. Included in the price was nice and adequate. Overall a small town, clean hotel that worked well for an overnight stay in the off season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zurich

Ski lift next to hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: Location, price
Cons: reception staffed a little more frequently.
Location: skiing, hiking, mountain biking, golf, lots of good restaurants
Overall excellent, room available earlier than expected. Staff a little difficult to find at times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Great location in the middle of ski country

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: Staff, location and price
Cons: English channel TV news
Location: Lots of options
Claudia and the staff are very friendly and helpful. On site parking was very helpful. Ski on ski off available. Very helpful ski shop with all the necessities. Food was good and lots of restaurants nearby. Town has a great mass transit that services numerous ski options. Beautiful scenery in every direction with lots of snow and very comfortable temperatures (25 to 30 F) ( -5 to 0 c). Would like to go back
4 out of 5
by Thomas from Arizona

Hotel Alphorn Overnight

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed here one night on our way from Provance to Basil and enjoyed this location very much. The hotel is within easy walking to shops and restaurants.
3 out of 5
by Helga from Zurich

An average experience

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels
Certainly not worth the price. An average experience.
4 out of 5
by Wardy from Scotland

Handy for the Slopes!

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is about a 10 minute walk up into Gstaad but because of this, attracts a lot of locals who use the bar to socialise, making for a good atmosphere. Also good ski-in location but beware, Gstaad's downfall is its lack of connectivity at altitude across the various villages. A ski bus is often needed once you have skied out each relatively small area and these did not seem to be as regular as they might be in peak season. Also, the pistes were in very poor condition on the first day we skied (24/1) and it was as if the piste bashers hadn't even bothered to try clearing some of the relatively light snowfall after the end of the previous day - very unSwiss and not at all like the other Swiss ski resorts we have been. Nice clean, warm, efficiently run hotel though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very cosy rooms and friendly management

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our short stay here especially since we visited during the low season and had the spa area all to ourselves. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the owner very friendly and helpful. We also had a nice dinner in the hotel restaurant. Would definitely come again for a quiet weekend away.