Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, UK

Nice hotel, view of the Eiger north face

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Lovely room, beautiful view, friendly helpful staff. Best croissants we ever had. close to train station, buses, shops, restaurants although the food (evening dinner) at the hotel was excellent. The local transportation costs included in your stay and took you to ski/sledging runs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to train station

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Hotel is very close to train station with is a plus. Bed too small, pillow is very very soft and only 1 pillow provided Breakfast not worth it. Got the north room so no view. The other room facing the mountain is better. Although it was low season, many rooms are empty, no upgrades given to better room but in fairness we did not ask. Only when there was some repair going upstairs and was disturbing our sleep, the staff offered to change our room but by then we can't be bothered to change as we were already sleeping.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best view in the village

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: Location. Right across from the train station.
Cons: Not much
Location: Catch the train to the " Top of Europe"
Make sure you get a village square view when booking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

NICE AND COMFORTABLE

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: LOCATION, ON THE MAIN STREET WITH GREAT VIEWS.
Cons: UP GRADES
Location: MOUNTAIN AREA AND LOTS NEARBY TO SEE AND DO.
LOVED THE AREA AND THE VIEWS. VERY NICE CLEAN HOTEL
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire, USA

Nice hotel next to the train station

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Location next to the train station, free parking and free Wi-Fi.
Cons: The bed was very hard and the room got warm at night. It was on the main street next to the train station you couldn't sleep with an open window.
Location: Steps away from the train station which will take you anywhere, including up to JungFraujoch. This is important when you're carrying skis or luggage.
This is a very nice hotel located in the center of Grindelwald just steps from the train station. The room was clean and well appointed and I had a beautiful view of the Alps from my balcony in room 31. They offered free Wi-Fi for as many devices as you needed (I had 3 devices). I never had an issue with the Wi-Fi and was able to stream Netflix videos without any issues. This was important as like most hotels in Europe the only English speaking TV station was CNN which seemed to run in an hourly loop and didn't change much the entire time I was there. The buffet breakfast was adequate and was free with the room. This is my second time staying at this hotel and I hope to return again next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, good location and nice staff.

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Cons: There could be a better supply/choice of toiletries in the bathroom like conditioner.
Good sized room with nice balcony and view. Restaurant was good and bar /lounge area was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

My favorite over last year's Grindelwald hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Had an Eiger Nordwand view room. Disadvantage was traffic noise and construction across street. We like the window open. Both ok with window closed. Kreuz und Post is acoss the street from the Train station. We stayed same time last year at a different hotel further away on Dorfstrasse, room was inferior although very clean and admittedly cheaper. Nonetheless the Hotel Eiger is the place to hang out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canadian in Tokyo

Great Location

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Staff were very professional and very very helpful. The rooms have balconies overlooking this wonderful small town.
Cons: Although the rooms are somewhat in the traditional style, the furnishings seem dated. Also, the room lighting is quite dark.
Location: Quite literally a hop, skip, and jump from the train station. It was so easy to arrive, stay overnight, do the Jungfrau excursion and then leave.
Stayed here for one night before going up Jungfrau. It's a classically styled hotel. Can't honestly rate the facilities because my stay was so short. Breakfast was very good. If you ask, they will make you bacon and eggs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Manuel from Zurich, Switzerland

Friendly and honest hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2012
Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room and especially the bathroom was quite spacious – definitely more than we expected. The hotel is located just a few steps away from the railway station. We booked a room on the north side, and it was pretty quiet; no problem sleeping with open windows. Would stay there again any time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Very impressed

Posted Nov 14, 2010
We arrived late after a drive from Zurich but we found the staff helpful and they went out of their way to help us settle in. The hotel is right by the station and you can take trains anywhere in the vicinity, the service is on time and very efficient if you do not want to drive. The hotel staff and restaurant staff were very polite and very efficient. I would certainly return in the future.