Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florianopolis Brazil

Great Views

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, Management, Interior Design, View, Amenities
Cons: Dinner service was a little slow and ordering via an Ipad (although a good idea) takes some of the personallity out of eating out for dinner!
Location: Skiing was first class, town was quaint
We stayed for a week to go skiing, we had half board. The room was a great size, clean with a nice design. The hotel amenities were also good and easily accesible. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Food was good, well cooked and fresh. It is a little out of town, however bus system worked well, the views are spectacular. I would love to go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ageing hotel with terrific views..

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Only the views...
Cons: Everything inside the building....
Location: Located high above Engelberg...but not too far from town, albeit on a steep hill....
We spent 3 nights over New Year in Engelberg, which in no way disappoints...it is a breathtakingly beautiful small town surrounded by magnificent mountains. Hotel Waldegg, was a considerable disappointment however, situated away from town, but with superb views...this is a VERY tired out,ageing property that is in need of very significant renovation. I stay in hotels all over Europe each month and I just cannot see how a 4 Star rating is remotely possible for this property...perhaps for the views only. We had two superior rooms at more than €300 per night, this hotel is not cheap and each room was like an army "bunker" ...painted concrete walls and 1970's furniture...yes a good view was the only benefit. The bathrooms in each room were like a 1960's hospital and just as basic as you could imagine......throughout the small reception and bar/restaurant was a bad odour that permeated the entrance area...just nauseating... The staff were pleasant and helpful...interestingly they give you a variety of leaflets upon check in,one that tells you proud they are of the "renovated rooms on floor 5 &6" You are sorely out of luck it seems on any other floor.....Engelberg was wonderful and deserves many return visits...Hotel Waldegg should be avoided
4 out of 5
by Lauren from Washington, DC

Go Spa in the Alps!

Posted Dec 6, 2014 on Hotels
Rooms need updating, but service was good. Loved the spa!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful service

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Cons: Expanded menu at the restaurant.
A very nice find at the last minute. The distance from the slopes might discourage the crowds, and that to your advantage. Great staff and service, clean modern rooms, and a sweet view across the valley to the mountains.
4 out of 5
by Steve from Washington

Wonderful place with great family atmosphere

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels
TThe Waldegg is an exceptional place due to its rare family atmosphere. We went with our two children and were really quite impressed they had made friends with other children (and with members of the staff) before we left. The rooms have been meticulously maintained and carefully cleaned. The spa facilities are wonderful and focus on the children in a way I’ve never seen before. The only reason I don't give the hotel 5 stars is because of the slow service in the various food-serving venues in the facility. This is common in Switzerland, but here service was slow even for the Swiss. For example, in the breakfast dining area coffee is served only by the waitstaff, and on our second day there, I waited through the entire meal to be acknowledged and offered coffee. In the end it did not much reduce our overall enjoyment, but I feel that a 5-star rating should be nearly perfect. I gave the location a 4 rather than a 5 because the hotel is located on a hill such that it is not walking distance from the quaint downtown dining establishments, and there is no shuttle service after 5pm. In summer, it would be just 10-15 min, but in winter it is dark, icy and narrow in places so we drove to dinner when we ate downtown. In summary, it was a very rewarding experience and if we get the chance we will certainly go back to the Waldegg. positive experience and if we get a chance we will certainly go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ski Holiday

Posted Jan 5, 2014
We stayed at the Waldegg Hotel for 5 days between Christmas and New Years. It was a great experience. The room was spacious for the four of us (2 adults and 2 children) and we had a beautiful view of the mountains. The swimming pool and sauna facilities were a great addition to the hotel and were much appreciated after a day out in the cold weather. Very clean and well maintained! The restaurant staff was helpful, but given the busy season they were not able to handle the volume of business in the evenings. That being said, the quality of the food was excellent and the breakfast buffet was one of the best I've experienced in a ski hotel. Given the location was above the town, it was a bit tricky getting down to the village given icy roads and parking seemed to be a challenge but we always managed to find a solution.
4 out of 5
by keith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay at the Waldegg

Posted Dec 21, 2012
Pros: service was excellent and very attentive
Cons: nothing
Location: excellent views and great location, the free bus shuttle was great, ir doesnt matter where your are
this is a very comfortable hotel, i stayed there for 3 nights with my 14 year old son, the views from our bedroom window of the Titlus, the valley and village are stunning. breakfast was included and was huge, as much or as little as you wanted to order, from fresh fruit to cereal to scrambled egg and smoked salmon, a great bus service picks you up every 30 minutes from near the front door and takes you into town, or staright to the bottom of the slopes. the hotel arranged a discount at a good ski hire shop and where very helpful with directions and recomendations the salt water swimming pool and sauna and steam room where excellent as well
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Anbefaler Waldegg

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Vi var svært fornøyd med Waldegg hotell. God service, deilig frokost, fine og romslige rom. Deilig svømmebasseng og fantastisk utsikt. Vi har tidligere bodd nærmere heisanlegget, men presise busser og tilgjengelige taxi gjorde alt enkelt.
2 out of 5
by JEROME from Alsace

Peu satisfaits par rapport au prix

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
La chambre nous a couté 1000 EUR pour 2 nuits pour 4. Elle faisait partie des chambres non refaites de l'hotel. Décoration vieillotte des années 70, sans aucun charme, ni confort. Lits pliants pour les enfants, matelas peu confortables. Salle de bain plus que basique. Salle de petit déjeuner et restaurant très agréable. Petit déjeuner très copieux et délicieux.