Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excelente value

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Very good surprise, nice location good staff, all very Swiss
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taiwan

Great Hotel like home

Posted Sep 11, 2016
I stayed for 4 nights with halfboard option. The room is clean and nice. Hotel crews have been helpful in providing shuttle service to and from train station, preparing the dinner, lunch box, and explaining the nearby spots. The restaurant is also awesome that the service is good, food changes every night, tasting really great. Also it has a wide variety of wines to choose from. During my stay in the hotel, I feel like home. I will definitely recommend to stay in this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Pleasant stay

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Unexpected facilities, helpful staff, clean and big room, good location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North of London

Towards the top end of the village

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Car parking, swimming pool.
Cons: Most areas need substantial investment and updating.
Location: Towards the top of the village near the First cable car. A little quieter than in the village centre.
Friendly staff, all tried very hard. The hotel feels very dated on all areas, has lacked capital investment and updating over many years. Food was okay but what I would describe as 'pensioner' food, certainly not a fine dining experience. And not really underneath the Eiger, you need to stay at the Grand Hotel Regina for that, but nevertheless great views. Our room and others that I saw with doors open had no carpet in the bedrooms. Our floor was very 'bitty' if you walked across it in bare feet. The beds were uncomfortable, and the pillows and duvets not of high quality. Staying two nights our room was cleaned and the french doors left unlocked all day by the cleaner - and it was a ground floor room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sue from England, UK

Great hotel with spectacular views.

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: Owner, managers and staff
Cons: weather
Location: opposite the Eiger in the centre of Grindelwald
We stayed 4 nights at this beautiful hotel. We were met in the car park by the manager who carried our luggage inside after greeting us by name. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Unfortunately the weather was rainy, cloudy and at high level even snowing so views of the Eiger which overlooks the hotel were scarce. The hotel is on the main road through Grindlewald and so close to cafes, shops and a self service launderette which was helpful as we were touring around Switzerland and hotel charges for laundry are very high. It is also 5 minutes walk from the cable cars and we were able to take advantage of the hotel card which gives free bus travel around the village and a reduction on the cable car. So although we had free parking, sometimes it wasn't needed as we could just stroll into the village. The evening meal was a set choice of several courses, but there was always a choice for those who don't eat meat or dislike some particular item. The value of this set meal was exceptional in Switzerland and the food was delicious. I have to mention the waiters-who were all cheerful, competent and so helpful with suggestions of places to visit in the locality. Quite a few guests were alone and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has ever sat alone in a restaurant. This hotel is welcoming to all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by noam

Very pleasant hotel!

Posted Jun 30, 2013
Pros: Staff Facilities
Location: Grindelwald is excellent for day trips. If weather is good, go up to First via cable car next to hotel, and take the hike to the lake (1 hour).
Hotel staff are extremely friendly, and went out of their way to help me in any way, including great tips o travel and day trips. The room is comfortable and effective, everything extremely clean and in place. I loved the pool and spa, really high end. Breakfast buffet was great as well. Did not try dinner, so cant comment on that. Overall, very recommended hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Geneva, Switzerland

Relaxing Grindelwald Break

Posted Jul 11, 2011
Really enjoyed staying here - especially - Nice clean, modern spa area - Recently renovated public areas (rooms also in good condition) - Friendly super helpful staff - Great location in centre of Grindelwald, short walk to "First" lift; a little further to station if you are carrying skis. (we went in summer) Would definately stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

アイガーを臨むテラスでくつろぐ

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: 部屋付きのテラスから、アイガーを含む周辺の山々の雄大な眺めが楽しめます。シングルルームはそれ程大きくなく、少々古びた感じもしましたが、この眺めだけで満足です。大通りから少し上った高台にあるので静かでゆっくりできます。また、スタッフの対応がとても親切且つフレンドリーで、ゲスト一人一人に丁寧に接していて、好印象でした。
Cons: 駅から徒歩10分足らずですが、大通りから入口までちょっとした登りがあるので、スーツケースを持っての移動はちょっと辛かったです。送迎をしてくれるようなので、事前に連絡しておくことをお勧めします。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baden-Baden

Perfekt gelegen

Posted Feb 14, 2016
Perfekt gelegen, wenn man auf First skifahren will. Auch die anderen Gebiete sind gut erreichbar, da der Skibus direkt unterhalb hält. Nettes und hilfsbereites Personal, sehr gutes Essen. Große Empfehlung von mir!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sehr gute Lage des Hotels mit Blick zum Eiger

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Sehr geehrte Familie Stettler. verehrte Mitrbeiter, vielen Dank für die liebevolle Aufnahme in Ihrem Hause und für das stets freundlichen Auftreten aller Ihrer Mitarbeiter. Wir haben uns in den auch von der Sonne verwöhnten Tagen bei Ihnen in Grindelwald ausgesprochen wohl gefühlt. Tagsüber in den grandiosen Bergen und Abends von Ihrer Küche verwöhnt, haben wir die Zeit bei Ihnen genossen. Nochmals vielen Dank für ihre Gastfreundschaft Ihre Familie Dr. Kurz und Müller aus dem Spreewald in Deutschland