Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect starting spot for Grindelwald Adventures

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly service staff and they were great in always ensuring we had everything we needed. Breakfast (that was included) was a great addition and was delicious, more than the usual hotel breakfasts.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

friendly staff

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
it was great stay, the staff are super friendly and very helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excelente value

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Very good surprise, nice location good staff, all very Swiss
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taiwan

Great Hotel like home

Posted Sep 11, 2016
I stayed for 4 nights with halfboard option. The room is clean and nice. Hotel crews have been helpful in providing shuttle service to and from train station, preparing the dinner, lunch box, and explaining the nearby spots. The restaurant is also awesome that the service is good, food changes every night, tasting really great. Also it has a wide variety of wines to choose from. During my stay in the hotel, I feel like home. I will definitely recommend to stay in this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Leo from Salt Lake City

Great place in Grindelwald

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel, great service. Right next to the First gondola. Dinner was included and the service was delightful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Pleasant stay

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Unexpected facilities, helpful staff, clean and big room, good location.
5 out of 5
by Yiu Hung

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North of London

Towards the top end of the village

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Car parking, swimming pool.
Cons: Most areas need substantial investment and updating.
Location: Towards the top of the village near the First cable car. A little quieter than in the village centre.
Friendly staff, all tried very hard. The hotel feels very dated on all areas, has lacked capital investment and updating over many years. Food was okay but what I would describe as 'pensioner' food, certainly not a fine dining experience. And not really underneath the Eiger, you need to stay at the Grand Hotel Regina for that, but nevertheless great views. Our room and others that I saw with doors open had no carpet in the bedrooms. Our floor was very 'bitty' if you walked across it in bare feet. The beds were uncomfortable, and the pillows and duvets not of high quality. Staying two nights our room was cleaned and the french doors left unlocked all day by the cleaner - and it was a ground floor room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sue from England, UK

Great hotel with spectacular views.

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: Owner, managers and staff
Cons: weather
Location: opposite the Eiger in the centre of Grindelwald
We stayed 4 nights at this beautiful hotel. We were met in the car park by the manager who carried our luggage inside after greeting us by name. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Unfortunately the weather was rainy, cloudy and at high level even snowing so views of the Eiger which overlooks the hotel were scarce. The hotel is on the main road through Grindlewald and so close to cafes, shops and a self service launderette which was helpful as we were touring around Switzerland and hotel charges for laundry are very high. It is also 5 minutes walk from the cable cars and we were able to take advantage of the hotel card which gives free bus travel around the village and a reduction on the cable car. So although we had free parking, sometimes it wasn't needed as we could just stroll into the village. The evening meal was a set choice of several courses, but there was always a choice for those who don't eat meat or dislike some particular item. The value of this set meal was exceptional in Switzerland and the food was delicious. I have to mention the waiters-who were all cheerful, competent and so helpful with suggestions of places to visit in the locality. Quite a few guests were alone and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has ever sat alone in a restaurant. This hotel is welcoming to all.