Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

Very warm welcome

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The Sunstar Alpine hotel in Wengen is excellently placed for all the amenities of Wengen. It is directly opposite the cable car and only a five minute stroll from the train station. The staff at the hotel were extremely welcoming and helpful throughout our stay, offering advice when asked about the best places to visit, where to hire equipment, arranging our lift passes and more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to train and mountain lifts

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Would definitely go back. Very friendly staff. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Better value than for amount paid than most places we've stayed. Family friendly, dog friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Still as excellent as ever

Posted Feb 6, 2017
This hotel still remains excellent and full of Swiss charm despite an ever changing world - long may it continue
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Katja & Oliver Kienzler, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your loyality. Warm regards from snowy Wengen!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Excellent service from the staff

Posted Sep 30, 2016
I was there for 4 nights total and was very happy with everything. By the time I left I felt as if I was a part of the Sunstar family.. Very welcoming and friendly staff.. I plan on staying again on my return trips to Wengen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Comfortable, well located hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Cons: We were in Wengen in warm weather which meant that we needed to keep the windows open. Street noise was definitely an issue.
The best thing about the Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen is the staff. They are unusually helpful and pleasant. The hotel is conveniently located, near the train station. The area around the hotel contains restaurants, bars and shops. Our room was clean, comfortable, modern and had a great view. The included breakfast was excellent. WIFI was also included. Shockingly, items in the mini-bar were free! (We have never encountered that anywhere else.) We would definitely stay at the Sunstar if we are fortunate enough to return to Wengen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel that made you feel welcome!!!

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
They greeted us with homemade lemonade with herbs from their garden when we checked in.it was very good. So we brought 2 bottles of the syrup to bring back to the states. One of our rooms was upgraded to a room with a sleeping loft. The view from our balconies was amazing!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Unbelievable views from the balcony; Amazing staff

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Loved every minute. Super friendly and helpful staff, high quality facilities. Location and views right out of a dream. Thank you for the great hospitality.
5 out of 5
by Jr-Chiang

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great Location

Posted Jul 10, 2016
The Sunstar Alpine Hotel are I stayed is located within an easy walking distance to the train station in Wengen. I could hit the station with a rock from my balcony at the hotel. Wengen is a good location to explore the many hiking trails and other points of interest including Jungfraujoch that are in the Interlaken, Jungfrau region. Wengen is a beautiful, small alps town that is great to skiers in winter and hikers in summer. It is my choice over Murren or Grindelwald. It is easy to get to by train from Interlaken. The trains are extremely timely. The views from the train alone are amazing. the windows open so you can get photos as the train travels. I would recommend a Jungfrau travel Pass so you can move from town to town, hiking trail to hiking trail as you wish. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was decent. the room had a refrigeration with daily complimentary drinks.