Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucharest

better than the photos

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing could be improved, everything is perfect
Location: Amazing location, stunning view
It is the only hotel that it looks better in reality than the photos. The atmosphere and the comfort -excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Absolute Perfection in a Stunning Alpine Setting

Posted Jul 11, 2015
This hotel is everything you'd expect in a fantastic, world-class hotel: the setting is stunning, set on a mountain overlooking the charming, pristine village of Gstaad; the staff bend over backward to be helpful and yet it's not fussy or overplayed service; the rooms are incredibly plush with small touches that impress, like Laderach chocolates. Then there's the outdoor pool, with the views to the Alps, and the spa, which is managed by Six Senses and is sublime. Downsides? You're a car-ride away from town but don't worry--they offer chauffeured Land Rovers to get you there on demand...free.
5 out of 5
by Kevin from Mason, OH, USA

Our favorite place to stay in Gstaad

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
An absolutely luxurious, beautiful hotel, with friendly staff and full amenities, and stunning views.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great spa, uninspired by rest

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels
The spa at the Alpina is excellent and one of the best that I have seen. Its light, airy, has 2 jacuzzis and a great salt room. However, I found the rest of the hotel quite dark and uninspiring. The basic rooms are also not that interesting, although the bathroom is well equiped and a good size and the views from the room were excellent. Very impressed with some elements but unimpressed with others for the rates you pay.
5 out of 5
by Butterfly from Melbourne Australia

Exceptional Hotel & Spa

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels
I have stayed at some of world's most exclusive hotels, like Burj Al Arab, four seasons etc. This is one of the best luxury hotels stayed ever. We stayed at Alpina for 3 nights before Christmas. It is not grand but new (only 12 months old), classic, exclusive and luxury. It is a bit hard to find the hotel entry at arrival. It would be helpful for the hotel to place more signs to guide the driving for its location. The hotel staffs provide excellent services and make you feel like home. The concierge does every best to meet your needs. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to take you to town for shopping and dining and can pick you up for return. The food of Magu restaurant is top quality and delicious. We have dined at other well known local restaurants but enjoyed Magu the best. Breakfast does not have lots of varieties but freshly served. The service is attended. I have asked freshly squeezed juice and the waiter has pleasantly served me as complimentary. The most amazing of this hotel is the new and contemporary top class six sense spa. Fabulous wow indoor pool, heated outdoor pool with panoramic view and relaxing salt room and more. We have booked a 107 point massage with the doctor from Indian. Unfortunately he was ill and it was cancelled. Strongly recommend anyone to spend some time in the spa. A true luxurious sanctuary.
3 out of 5
by David from Boston, MA

Great facility with disappointing elements

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: The room and the building itself.
Cons: The service overall. With some exceptions, it is sadly lacking in warmth, consistency and polish for a hotel of this stature.
Location: All good.
The Hotel is very expensive, so expectations are high. We found the room lovely in every respect, although the room lighting options and electronic curtain controls were so complicated, it took a couple fo days to master. The big let down is the spotty service and disappointingly maintained spa facilities, mainly in the Men's and Women's changing rooms which were unmanned and frankly dirty on a couple of the visits we made there. The Dining and Bar areas are strangely uninviting, although we didn't dine at the Japanese restaurant, which is said to be good. We did try Le Sommet the main restaurant, who's cuisine was formal and well presented, but uninspiring in quality and flavor. The breakfast buffet was only OK at best. Ambience was hurt by the music they pipe through.When we complained about the rap music playing at our Sunday breakfast, the staff agreed with us, but said it couldn't be changed because it was controlled at Reception.
5 out of 5
by Stefano

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Roland from Luzern

Traumhotel an ruhiger Lage

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
Top Hotel an herrlich ruhiger Lage über Gstaad. Exclusives Zimmer incl upgrade erhalten. Herrlicher Aussenpool mit Blick in die Berge. Top Service überall wie auch im Restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
Super Zimmer!