Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional Owners, Wonderful Hotel

Posted May 27, 2017
We stayed four nights and cannot give enough positive reviews for this hotel. In a tourist centric town the Tschuggen feels like home. Our mountain view room was quiet, comfortable and very clean. The generous breakfast was delicious and our hosts went out of their way to assist. Thank you Tschuggen owners and staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Monika Ganzoni-Bernet, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We’re happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Tschuggen. We wish you a nice summer and hope to welcome you again sometime in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Good view to the mountain. Near to train station and the cable car station.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to train station but not friendly staff

Posted Mar 17, 2017
It was only 5min walk from the station. However, the staff in front desk ( a guy) and breakfast area lady was not friendly. Fake smile and only friendly to people who speak their language. We asked local interest, the front desk didnt answer our questions clearly so we ended up going to tourist center instead. Great view from the room but not worth of 140 CHF per night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Best value, service and location.

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Orbitz
Accommodations are particularly pricey in Grindelwald and Hotel Tschuggen was the best of the affordable options. 5 min walk, with luggage, from the train station. 5 minute walk, in gear, to First Gondola/ticket booth for lift passes. The included breakfast buffet is authentic and literally the highlight of our day. If you arrive and leave at inconvenient hours, they'll store your luggage until your departure. Hotel Tschuggen has been around for longer than most, so it's quite simply, an affordable, friendly, comfortable place to rest and fuel up for hiking, skiing, snowshoeing, Nordic skiing etc. If you want the spa treatment and fine-dining experience, I suggest you pay double/triple and stay across the street. We paid $130/night for a double with a view and loved it. Robert and the entire staff of 3 give it their all. Best deal in town. I'll stay here every time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by Monika Ganzoni-Bernet, Hotel Management
Dear Mr./Mrs. Steel, thank you very much for your review. We’re happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Tschuggen. We wish you all the best for the future and hope to see you again sometime in the future! Kind regards from sunny Grindelwald
5 out of 5
by Maldwyn

Centrally located, friendly and well run hotel.

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Centrally located, family run hotel. Very good, friendly service. We visit Grindelwald for skiing every year and stay in different hotels. This is one we can highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We’re happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Tschuggen. We wish you all the best for the future and hope to see you again sometime in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
The room is very small and wifi works slow. Good location. Breakfast is better than I expected
5 out of 5
by Jim from Rotherham

Max and Pearl on Tour

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel great views from the balcony especially on the night of the storm we had . Owners were friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
The room is clean and comfortable. Walking distance to both train station and First. Convenient for going around. Close to 2 supermarkets and lots of restaurants nearby. Friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2016 by Monika, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again sometime in the future.