Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Wengen hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Met our needs for the 4 nights stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much for your excellent feedback. We are delighted to hear that you are happy with our hotel and the service from our staff. We hope we can welcome you again in the not too distant future. Warm regards from Wengen, Giovanni Caltabiano and the Wengener Hof team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

In need of update ASAP

Posted Sep 14, 2016
the positives: Friendly front desk staff Super clean and quiet Great view from upper floor rooms The negatives: Very outdated decor-this is not a case of "period decor" as others have posted. The decor is awe full wall paper from the 1980s, faded botanical prints, gloomy lighting, furniture stuffed into to small a space... The breakfast was terrible-rubbery bacon, soggy eggs, canned fruits... Only a few of the rooms have that great view due to the evergreen trees I front of the hotel. It has such potential and the staff there is so good. I only hope the owners don't keep ignoring this place and keep letting it slide. At least de clutter the rooms, get better lamps and cook the bacon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Management Hotel Wengener Hof, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We truly appreciate your most kind words on our staff and we certainly will share your feedback with our entire team. We are very sorry that we could not fulfill your expectations regarding the breakfast buffet and we hope to seeing you again to persuade you of our good choice. Also, year by year, we try to make some renovation in order to keep a high standard but also to keep our "english style". Of course, this style might be a matter of taste. Kindest regards Management and team hotel Wengener Ho
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Wonderful hotel. Excellent service

Posted Sep 11, 2016
We enjoyed our recent stay of 10 days. The manager and his staff were very hospitable and accomodating. The view from our room and balcony was amazing. Had a great time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Management Hotel Wengener Hof, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your one week visit and your excellent feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our staff and our management. We will definitely share your positive feedback with the entire Wengener Hof team. We hope we can welcome you soon again. Warm regards from Wengen Giovanni Caltabiano and the Wengener Hof team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Pleasant experience!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
PROS : Nice hotel , clean and tidy. The rooms were well maintained and its close to the train station. very friendly staff and efficient. It's a pretty place to stay overall. CONS: definitely need a fan or aircon in the room ( specially in August/ sept
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Management Hotel Wengener Hof, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Many thanks for your excellent feedback. It is a pleasure for us to hear that you spent some nice days in Wengen and that you were happy about our rooms, service and our staffl. We will definitely forward your feedback to the entire team. For environmental and ecological reasons Swiss law prohibits air condition, since we are high i in the mountains we have a natural air condition by opening the windows. Unfortunately, we had weather conditions in the recent days which were exceptionally hot and we did not have such high temperatures for years. We hope we can welcome you back one day. Best regards from Wengen Giovanni Caltabiano and the Wengener Hof team
5 out of 5
by Fan from new york

good service, amazing view.

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
the service was superb. the staff are very friendly and accommodating. We got a mountain view room which is breathtaking. The best review I have ever seen from a hotel room. The room deco is a bit old but I think that's the atmosphere of the hotel. the bathroom is big and clean. We stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed it. As far as the location, it's in wenjen, the town that can't be accessed by cars. We had a bad weather while we were there so we were a bit bored. But if the weather were nice there are many hiking sightseeing can do around there. And the trains are very convenient. The only thing I would suggest the hotel to improve is their staff knowledge about excursions recommendations. We rely heavily on local knowledge when we travel instead of just googling reviews but we feel we didn't get much feedback from them such as adventure activities and things to do during raining day etc. overall a real good stay and nice people
5 out of 5
by Peggy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Keith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great hotel for Wengen

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: In the village of Wengen it was well placed with great views of the mountains and valley. The staff were helpful.
Cons: Dangerous access to the bath in our room because of a second sink located a foot away from the toilet!
Location: Plenty of hikes to do in the area. A car-less town which is a plus. Wengen is definitely the town of choice in this region.
We spent six days - very handy for the train. Get a mountain view room, worth it. They offer five course dinner for CHF40 per night. Breakfast adequate, though the toaster did not work, the milk was warm and the hot choices minimal. Seating is assigned in the dining room and you get the conservatory with a view if you stay a few days. They have a most extensive wine cellar - a big plus for Switzerland.
5 out of 5
by Anisha

Awesome!

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable, great service. I had written a note to the hotel when booking that we will be reaching Wengen at 1.00 AM, and they had someone waiting at the station to pick us up. Also, woke up late, so they sent us breakfast in the room. Great service, very comfortable, beautiful views.