Ratings based on 715 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bessemer, al

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Close to the freeway as well as dine in and drive thru restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us your honest comments. We appreciate your feedback regarding our hotel. Thank you for choosing our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Friendly staff, very accommodating. We requested a very late checkin and they made the process quick and easy for some very tired travelers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this insightful review and for providing us feedback on our staff. We hope to see you again in the future and to impress you with the continued improvements we make.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great stay for our annual reunion

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Comfy bed, clean room and bathroom, tasty breakfast
Our 2nd stay when visiting friends in the area. centrally located, and restful room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest and value your comments regarding our area and room. We hope to see you again and that you'll truly be impressed with our improvements.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Nice place, close to everything, right off highway, numerous food places nearby
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
On behalf of our entire staff - thank you for the wonderful rating. We look forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chesapeake va

did not make trip. sick

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: sick, did not make trip
Cons: nothing
Location: no comments
Could not take trip to country Inn because of being sick
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the incredible rating! We are so glad we were able to provide you with such a wonderful experience and we hope to see you very soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We won't be back

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Room was in poor condition, the hotel maid walked into the room both days at 8 am with out knocking . Breakfast wasn't worth eating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Know that you voice is utmost important to us and we will be doing a thorough investigation on the claim that you mention and make sure that this will not happen again. We hope to see you again and be impress with the improvement we have made.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Country Inn And Suites By Carlson.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Stayed at Country in and Suites in Bessemer to go to Alabama football game.Had a great time. Room was comfortable and staff was friendly There is shopping and restaurants close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am happy to learn that you enjoyed the value and quality of our accommodation when you visited our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and the online travel community. We are truly grateful for your favorable rating for our hotel. It was a pleasure knowing that you were pleased with the services and accommodation we provided you. Kind regards.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Non-Stay

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: N/A
Cons: Full refund and then I would consider staying at your location next time
Location: Honestly, after finally making it to Birmingham I'm not sure if I can answer this question. Everything closes early and not much to do.
I made a reservations and couldn't stay because my plans changed. I was told online that I would pay at check-in. However, my credit card was charged. I am not pleased with this decision and would like a full or refund. Other than that this was one reason for such low ratings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We assure you that your comments have been addressed with our entire staff and management team to ensure that no similar incident occurs in the future. We hope this will not deter you from returning back and be impress with the improvement we have made with our ervices;
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An honest review

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Nice and quiet; had complimentary breakfast and really nice staff
Cons: Changing the sheets, updating the TVs and fixing the phones
Location: Splash Adventures and museums
Honestly, this was a pretty basic hotel experience and we only spent one night so it wasn't too much of a big deal, but there are some annoying things that should have been fixed no matter if it was one night or six. For one, the TVs are outdated and it wasn't working when we first walked in. We had to get someone from downstairs to come fix It and that was a journey on its own. We tried reaching the first desk on the phone, but the phone doesn't work properly because the wall jack isn't in tact, so my boyfriend had to hold the wall jack in order for the phone to work. Despite the hard work to get it to work, no one would pick up the phone at the front desk so my boyfriend (bless his heart, he was already exhausted from work) had to put on his shoes and go downstairs and get someone. He came and he fixed the tv and all was well! The other issue was that my boyfriend and I both went to sleep itching last night and we woke up with some marks on us and it was not fun at all. And we're very clean people and we both took showers and everything, so we were very confused. The last bad thing was that it smelled really really bad, like old left over pizza and the smell never went away. I'm kinda used to staying at 4-5 star hotels so this was a big difference for me, and I just wanted a night to spend outside of city and to get away, and overall this experience was good because it was different and I spent it with the right person!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your rating of our hotel. Your rating of our hotel is very important to us. Feedback from guests are used as reference as we continue to strive so we can provide above par, good value hotel services.We hope that everything turned out alright and we are looking forward to seeing you again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Rate almost doubled during Hurricane Irma + Ants

Posted Sep 29, 2017
I've checked multiples dates and the regular rate of this hotel for a Friday/Saturday is around 100 a night. However, during Hurricane Irma they charged us 185+ taxes each night (total 421 for 2 nights). It's really frustrating and unfortunate that during all the stress related to evacuating Florida, families still had to worry so much about finding a place to stay because rates exploded. In addition to paying almost double their regular rate, we had a terrible experience with the room they gave us. After travelling for more than 15 hours my kids fell asleep to only wake up 30 minutes later because they were being bitten by ants in their bed. When I checked there were dozens of ants in the room and they got in our clothes and inside the bed. While the kids were complaining about the ants biting them, I also got bit. I had to spend like 30 minutes making sure that the clothes in our bags were free of ants. When I reported this to the manager he apologized and changed our room. However, I had to move all our stuff to the other room with no help at all from the hotel staff. The manager said he would give a discount for the inconvenience, but I never received the credit. I'd like to hear back from Expedia and the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing a review. I regret to discover that you weren't thoroughly impressed with us during your most recent stay. I sincerely apologize for these inconvenience especially with the ants incident. We want to assure you that we respond promptly to pest alerts with expert extermination services and also treat to deter pests on a regular scheduled basis. We do hope to serve you again soon so that we may change your opinion at our hotel.