Ratings based on 656 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TEXAS

NIce place to rest your head after a long day

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: The rooms were nice and cool
Location: Close to restaurants and gas stations, other than that, not sure....
We were just passing through,,,,we were moving from Virginia to Texas and stayed here one night. It was very comfortable, had easy access to food and gas and getting back on the freeway. Very convenient and breakfast was tasty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible experience

Posted Jul 14, 2017
We waited 20 min to check in. I'd called the hotel ahead of time to make sure there would be another bed for our 5th person and there was nothing for her when we arrived. The hotel only had one roll away bed. The shower rotated between cold and hot. There was food in the hallway that was not cleaned by the staff. The hallway smelled. When asked for compensation the manager told the staff person to give us whatever we wanted and she would only reimburse us for the mattress we had to buy so my daughter had some place to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review. We always desire for our valued guests stay to be outstanding. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay due to the the cleanliness of the hotel, the amenities, the check in time was longer than you anticipated as well as the service you received you received from our staff at that time. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like you to have. We attempt to fulfill each of our guest’s requests to the best of our ability. Your feedback is highly appreciated as it assists us in our continuous goal of improving our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from upstate NY

Adequate for travelers but lacking in detail

Posted Jul 13, 2017
We booked a non smoking room and were given a smoking room and had to ask for another room which they gave us. Fan in bathroom did not work. Breakfast was disappointing. The eggs tasted awful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback. We do make it a point to let our guests know that smoking is prohibited in the non-smoking rooms as the scent does linger in the walls and carpets. Unfortunately, some guests are unable to follow that policy so we try do our best to ensure that the rooms will be clean and ready for the next check-in. We apologize for the setback and hope that the next room provided for you was to your liking. We hope that you will consider staying with us again as we are dedicated to improve on our accommodations and breakfast services for your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The stay was very nice.... the bed was very comf.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We enjoyed the nice cool room best of all.... but the pool room was too hot to stay in!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
It is great to know that you found our accommodations to be cool and comfortable especially after such a long travel on the road. We would also like to apologize for the discomfort that you had experienced with our pool room. We will try to do our best to make sure that it will cool and well-ventilated next time. We sincerely hope that your next stay with us will be a more pleasant experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The entire hotel has a vague smell of smoke, despite being a non-smoking facility. The walls of the room are thin and we heard even normal-level conversation from other rooms, never mind from the hallway. The other guests were quite noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We are striving hard for excellence in cleanliness and guest satisfaction. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that your stay was less than perfect due to the cleanliness of the hotel, the condition of your room and the noise at that time. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like for our valued guests to have. We understand how important a quiet environment is. Your feedback is highly appreciated as it gives us the opportunity to correct any imperfections we may have in our services. We hope for another chance to exceed your expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gulfport, MS

Front desk clerk very friendly and helpful

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Cons: more upgrades to the facility
Location: close to walmart and several fast food locations short drive to mall
Love indoor pool convenience of being near wal mart
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Great to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us. We appreciate your time in completing our satisfaction survey and for giving us positive review. Thank you for another fine reference for our hotel. Kind regards.
3 out of 5
by soniqua

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Melissa

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Would stay again. Clean, comfortable, and spacious. Close to many restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location and very friendly staff

Posted May 14, 2017
We have a daughter at University of Alabama and have stayed in several different hotels in the area over the last few years. Yours is very clean and conveniently located.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Glad to hear that you find our location convenient and the condition of clean was up to your preference. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards.
2 out of 5
by Alyssa

Most uncomfortable bed

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
The first room I was put in had blood stains all over the mattress. The second was at least clean. The mattress was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in felt like a rock. Woke up with horrible back pain. The pillows were so flat that I had to use all three that they gave and fold one in half to get any kind of support. Usually I love staying at comfor inn and suits they are usually amazing but this one was horrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing your review. We apologize that you were not pleased with the cleanliness of the first room you had during your stay, though, we are glad that you were transferred to a cleaner room. Also, we are sorry to hear that you did not have a good night’s sleep due to the comfort of your bed. We know a good night’s rest is very important. This is not the kind of experience we want our valued guests to have. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.