Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gold coast australia

Lovely historic family accommodation

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Character and history. Welcoming staff. Great breakfast and atmosphere. Location was quiet and central.
Lovely building in a great central area. Rooms are decorated in Victorian manner and are very comfortable. The common areas - lounge, dining, front verandah, have a lovely feel and very comfortable to relax. Our host Pat was lovely as were the other staff. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. It was great to have real cutlery and plates rather than polystyrene which seems to have become the norm at other places. Thank you Pat and team. We enjoyed our stay very much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Lovely old converted home right in town

Posted Oct 11, 2017
No one around for check in. Had to call and someone came out. Room was very comfortable (#4) and spacious. Kitchen was having major issues at dinner and we were asked to go across the street to eat. Chef apologized when we returned and brought us lobster tails even though we had just finished eating!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It is a beautiful building

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful structure, maintenance was minimal on the property, excellent breakfast and very accommodating staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The only complaint was the bed was very uncomfortable. Breakfast was very good. Room was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice inn and staff were very friendly

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Located in quaint town of Bethel Maine. A few small shops and town square. Lovely hiking trails, falls and mountains nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Cute old fashioned place but the bed was squeaky and we weren't sure what to do when we heard someone banging on the front door for around 15 minutes. We weren't sure if there was a reason they weren't being let in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to Sunday River and Bethel, Good Price

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The Beds were short in my room for being 6'2".
Location: Bethel bars and restaurants within a walk.
What I expected in a BnB. Was clean, reasonably priced, and well located to Sunday River.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Nightmare,owner is beyond rude. Stay away!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: 0
Cons: Get this place off Expedia
Told wrong hotel, it must be another one when I arrived. There was no reservation and I was asked to leave. I left and came back after rechecking reservation an hour later. I was told by restaurant staff in front she was not there and to call number on wall, no connection. I was then shown to room in back where she actually was. I told her I had reservation number and all info from Expedia, she came out of room. She screamed at me and said there was no reservation. I was told again, NO reservation for me, no rooms and not sure what she wanted me to do. I indicated, I no longer wanted to stay however wanted to compare reservation so to get refund. Went to "office". she swore and then looked on her computer. I then was told it looks like there is a reservation, but Expedia messed it up, she still had no rooms. No other places available. I had to forfeit ski pass for the next day and drive 2.5 hrs home. Stay away, this was worst experience ever in a inn, beyond rude. Read past reviews, history repeats itself. Stay away for sure!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
I have stayed at this b&B several times, and have been generally happy with the staff. There have been a few changes that have cause me to rethink booking again. They recently have opened up a restaurant on premise for dinner.. Now instead of having cookies for the guests and a nice quiet evening at the B&B there is a business thats trying to sell you their deserts. I chose to eat there one day and I can honestly say I would never recommend the food to anyone it was some of the worse Italian food I have ever had. The chef should be fired. The food at the bars at Sunday River were a far better choice.. The should seriously think twice about their changes... The breakfast served with the rooms is still quite good.