Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Golden, CO

Stunning views of the ocean

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. The most stunning sunsets on the West Coast. Great panoramic views.
Cons: Some reinvestment in updating the property and making sure all appliances work well. For the cost, you expect 5 **** accommodations.
Location: Beach walks, tramping tracks, sand-dune lake. Ocean is not safe to swim here. This is a romantic location, not so much as a family location.
The location and views are what makes this location. On the other hand, the road to get there is very rough (narrow, rocky gravel road) and there are no clear signs to guide you. Fortunately, there's not much else around, so you just keep following "to the end of the road." One word of caution, you are 30 minutes from any restaurants or grocery stores, so bring everything you need for your stay. The cottages, which are a little dated but very comfortable, are fully self-contained. There is a shared hot-tub for all three cottages that takes a while to warm up to 40 degrees Celcius, but once it's warm, it's very relaxing. Washer & dryer use is NZ$7 per machine, and we were not warned that the dryer did not work. Fortunately, it wasn't raining and I was able to have clothes dry outside. The WiFi is perfectly adequate, if you need to connect, but this place is made for disconnecting. Plenty of walks. We enjoyed going to the sand-dune lake nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

wow!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: walking, hiking, photography, relaxing
A remote location off an unpaved road. Absolutely stunning view of the ocean! Great male host! Spacious and clean cottage. Gardens need tending and the site, over all, needs serious de-cluttering. Our cottage, although clean and roomy, needed less stuff on the kitchen table, countertops, and bed: excessive cushions! People enjoy a clear space to relax and use. But the location is breathtaking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful location, lovely cottage
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Perfect view and perfect home away from home

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Absolutely stunning view and peaceful. John and Trude really did a great job welcoming us and making us feel relaxed the whole stay. We will definitely be returning.
5 out of 5
by Fiona from Henderson

magic Bethells

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Awesome
4 out of 5
by Megan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice cottage but overpriced for what it is.

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very secluded down a long winding road. Beautiful view of far away beach. No beach access. No food options within at least 30 mins. You must bring food for all your meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful Cottages with spectacular view

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Lastminute
Location: Easy to just wander around on the beach for ages and be in beautiful surroundings.
Peaceful and relaxing with an abundance of facilities to keep entertained such as table tennis, hot tub, hammocks, benches, large outdoor chess game and of course the beach itself. This is the "Xena" beach and the scenery is definitely spectacular. The place has a very home-like feel and owners Trude and John are easy to talk to. Would love to return and stay even longer. Perfect if you want to get away and paint/write that book.
5 out of 5
by Emily from Portland, OR

magical beginning

Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels
What a perfect place to start our holiday in New Zealand! We headed to the cottages after landing in Auckland and stocking up on some groceries. The rough road to the cottages was unexpected, and additional signage directing to the location, as well as parking, would have been helpful. Possible improvements would be air conditioning and window screens. However, our apartment at Bethells Beach Cottages was absolutely amazing. A magical location with a gorgeous view, adorably furnished. John was friendly and welcoming, and gave us some fantastic tips for exploring the area, including a nearby lake and of course the black sand beach below. I wish we could have stayed a whole week! Absolutely wonderful, thank you!