Ratings based on 1,257 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wash dc

Nice hotel good location

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Clean nice location not bad fof the money parking real bad
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jul 19, 2017
I had a quick one night stay. This hotel was just what I needed: walking distance to NIH, very quiet room, clean. Will definitely stay again on my next trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad location

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Very little parking. Had to park and pay a block away.elevated got stuck once.was a bad place to get into and out of.beds was suppose to be queen but was twin.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Good solid room, but parking problem

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable and well kept.
Cons: They need more parking or maybe they can make a deal with the larger hotel next door to use their garage as overflow?
Location: Quirky area that was nice to walk around in the morning.
The room itself is good. It's not fancy (our window view was another building), but is a good, comfortable room. Nice bathroom, great toiletries, well kept and clean. The staff were good at their jobs and the breakfast was nice. The reason I wouldn't recommend it is the parking. There have fewer spaces than they need and when we arrived, the lot was full. We were told to park at a public lot across the street and behind a building. There was no cross walk there (busy, 4 lane street) so after fighting rush hour traffic and finally getting to the lot, we had to walk to the end of the block, cross, and walk back a block with all of our luggage. I forgot something so had to repeat this later. We also had to pay for the public parking. At least it can be done by phone, so no feeding quarters, but you are required to pay $20 up front and then email the company for a refund of unused funds. Very inconvenient. I would not stay here again because of the parking issue. Otherwise, a good, solid room for someone who does not have much luggage or who is coming by public transport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: decent room, clean, nice breakfast and reasonable workout space
Cons: parking
decent hotel with above average staff poor parking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Good location near DC

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Our second stay at this location and we like staying here. The parking lot is small but they do pay for parking spots at the lot across the street. The staff are great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Convenient location and good price

Posted Jul 2, 2017
The American Inn of Bethesda is very convenient for visitors to the National Institutes of Health and D.C. The breakfast was surprisingly good (including hot items such as omelettes), the staff was friendly and competent, and the room was fine. The building itself is run-down, and both the fitness center and pool are very small, but the price is right. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Great hotel that's close but not to close to DC

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Stayed overnight with the staff being very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but clean and up to date. Even though they are small they are adequate. The hotel serves Continental breakfast but lacks a restaurant. They make up for this by recommending the Mexican restaurant next door with a discount for guests. There are many small restaurants within walking distance. The drive to DC/Mall is about 15 to 20 minutes or you can take the Metro which is down the road. Already rebooked for another weekend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty, black mold on air conditioner, door stuck

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Did not feel safe here at all. Staff was friendly enough but facility needs a MAJOR overhaul. Health and safety factors !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There was no parking when we arrived!!!!!

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Cons: Parking. Do not advertise you have free parking!!! There is no parking for the vast majority of the rooms.
Fitness facility is dirty, no water, no anti-bacterial wipes. There are very few parking spaces on the hotel premises. It took us 32 minutes in our car, before the hotel, to ultimately check in. Hotel staff told us to park at a public parking space. Other folks were angrier than we were.