Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Don't trust hotel guarantee

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Maria in the restaurant was very nice.
Cons: Clean the floors and make-up the rooms. Don't put visitors next to elevators when the hotel is mostly empty.
I stayed here for four nights over Christmas to visit relatives in nearby Asbury Village. I had paid through Expedia for breakfasts for me and my son. At check in, the receptionist only gave me four breakfast passes for two people (should have been eight), presumably because my son would eat for free in the restaurant. This was not the restaurant policy, however, and they charged me for his breakfasts until I got it worked out. Eventually, the receptionist gave me additional breakfast passes but she seemed to be breaking some rule to do so; so kudos for her sense of fairness and jeers for the management. As for the rooms, ours was poorly lit but relatively quiet. The floors in the room were filthy and housekeeping didn't service the room at all on the third day. There was also no hot water (barely luke warm) at 9pm when we returned for the night. When I pointed out the lack of basic services, the receptionist ignored the unmade room and blamed the lack of hot water on three tour buses of students. He made no offer to discount the room per the hotel guarantee and instead offered me breakfast passes that I had already paid for! Clearly, he was more concerned about the big tour bus contract than whether my family would be repeat business, which we won't unless Holiday Inn makes a serious effort to make-up for their poor showing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by barak sam, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for letting us know how disappointed you were with your stay. there is no excuse for poor service or a dirty room. I sincerely apologize and would be happy to ensure a better e do appreciate and share your feedback with the staff. Happy New Year
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016
we liked it. helpful staff. clean. nice restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Good hotel for the price!

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: I would like exhaust fans in the bathrooms and the toilet dripping was a tad annoying.
Location: Close to everything and free parking are great perks!
The staff was great! They would try to help if there was a problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Beautiful hotel!!!! We had an amazing experience at the Gaithersburg Holiday Inn. The staff was nice and very helpful and everything was so clean. We'll definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect location, excellent staff, very clean....

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Every morning I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, wireless high speed internet, and free parking. Can't beat Holiday Inn Gaithersburg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

only for anight

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: near my old home
was pleasantly surprised by the breakfast. Has friends meet me and we all gagreed it was truly good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US-California

Needs a Facelift

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: The Comfy bed!
Location: Crazy busy location but near things you may need and access to the highways.
The hotel was in a good location and the staff was wonderful. However, the place needs a facelift. The carpet was high end at the beginning I can tell, but the stains were awful. We put on our shoes the whole time so we didn't have to walk on the floor. The painting touchups were poorly done. BUT...the mattress and bedding were excellent!! If you want to compete with other hotels in your price range you just need it to be neat and clean. Clean the carpet. Thanks!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Barak Sam, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. WE do plan to make some capital improvements in the coming months. There is no excuse for a dirty carpet, and we do use commercial carpet cleaners but clearly it is time for them to come once again. WE are very pleased you enjoyed the staff. We try to create a very positive work environment, and our team truly enjoys what they do. thank you again for your business
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sarasota

Not happy

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Easy parking.
Location: You cannot walk around this area. You need to have a car for whatever you want to do. It is on a very busy intersection.
The room was spacious but did not look very clean. We killed 18 roaches that day and complained to the manager about the cleanliness. He was very respectful and explained they were renovating above our floor and that that could have been the reason why we found those roaches. We had a 2-day reservation. Manager said that they would not charge us for the night we stayed and waived any penalty fees for the second night which expedia would reimburse. Manager was very apologetic. We checked out and went to a different hotel. Would I stay at another Holiday Inn? Probably yes because the staff they have is worth giving them another chance. However, I would be more cautious with my research.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Barack.Sam@bfsaulco.com, Hotel Management
I am so so so so sorry for the problem you encountered during yore stay. I am pleased the team did their best to rectify the terrible situation. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Barak Sam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brantford, Ontario, Canada

Great location to major highway

Posted Sep 18, 2016
This was just an overnight stop for us on our way to our vacation destination. It was right off the highway and easy to get in and out of. There was a large shopping mall across the street with a few restaurants nearby. Check in was quick and easy with very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel and room was clean and nicely decorated. The room was a good size and the beds were comfy. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by barak sam, Hotel Management
thank you for your recent stay. We are very happy you had such a wonderful experience. We hope you will come back in the near future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Erie, PA

Did not meet previous reviews

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The only good thing was location.
Where do I start. We scheduled to stay at this hotel for a week. The first night, we had to call the front desk regarding a TV and persons fighting. It took hour to get someone to look into it. The first morning, my son goes downstairs for breakfast, which was to be included in our stay. The hotel did not honor the breakfast. The cost for the buffet was $42/person. The buffet included genetic eggs, cereal, muffins, etc. Everyone on the floor received a newspaper. They never provided us. The third day, we return and there is a blower in our room. We call downstairs and was informed that a water pipe broke. Our entryway was wet. They never offered to move us. We had to listen to the vacuum for next three days. We needed use of a washer/dryer. The washer/dryer was pulled. We had to travel to laundermat. The ice machine was malfunctioning and had to travel to two floors below us. I usually stay at Wyndam hotels, but took a chance based on the reviews. I will never stay at a Holiday Inn again.
Comment from Hotel Management
by sam, Hotel Management
thank you for letting us know about the issues you encountered. We did indeed have a pipe burst, and you should have been offered a room move . We do have different packages which include breakfast, but it is up to 2 people per room depending on the package bought. Then menu price is $13.50 per person. I have shared your concerns with the staff, and again apologize you had such a poor experience.