Ratings based on 858 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Loveland, CO

Posted Sep 21, 2017
This was a last minute stop while traveling. The first room smelled Horrible and we asked to be moved, the front desk was accommodating--as apparently they knew there was an issue with that room. The second room was better but not what I would consider extremely clean...I showed the front desk a picture the next morning of the centipede that crawled across the bathroom floor. There was no clock in the room and the refrigerator wouldn't close properly because of ice. I was given an apology but nothing else...would not recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alpharetta, GA

I wouldn't recommend

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything, Blow up old and rebuild. It was that dated
Location: My father lived nearby that's why I chose this motel. But I have spotted out other better looking hotel and next time I'm I will chose another hotel
I was throughly disappointed. They really need to renovate this facility. I will not be staying there every again. Front desk staff weren't too bad. Asking for towels or comforter from cleaning staff was a bit challenging, they didn't understand English and they would only give you a few towels and they had no comforters for their beds. Highly disappointed
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Leigh H., Hotel Management
I want to thank you for your honest feedback on our hotel. I am sorry that you were disapointed with your stay with us and that the cleaning staff wasn't as helpful as they should have been. Unfortunately we do not put comforters on our beds. We are in the process of updating our facility at the moment. I want to thank you for staying with us. Thank you,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Weston, WI

Never again

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The front desk staff was very nice
Cons: The people cleaning the room need to be trained or something... The room being as dirty as it was is unacceptable.
Location: Almost anything you needed was withing 15 minutes. Old Chicago was right next door and domino's and 7-11 across the street.
We were initially in a room that the AC didn't work, so we asked to be switched... We were then switched to a different room... The new room was absolutely disgusting... My daughter had been crawling on the floor for about 20 minutes and her knees, hands and feet were black... We went to give her a bath, but the tub hadn't been cleaned... So I wiped her off with a baby wipe instead.. We had left and put all of our trash by the trash can as it was a bit too small to fit everything, we had come back at about 10 pm that night and our breakfast was still sitting there.. Needless to say, old waffles and orange juice doesn't smell too pleasant.. The room smelled like cat pee, the sheets had stains on them, the 3rd floor ice machine didn't work, the wash cloths were dirty, there was gunk on the faucet... It was just not pleasant...
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Leigh H., Hotel Management
I want to thank you for giving us your honest feedback about your stay with us. I am sorry that the floor was so dirty , tub was dirty, the trash wasnt taken out, the room smelled and the was cloths were dirty. Unfortunately the 3rd floor ice machine is down at the moment. I am over all sorry that your stay was not up to standards and is not acceptable. We will address all of your concerns right away. I want to thank you for staying with us. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, MI

Pleasant option

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, well supplied, an extension cord with 3 plugs on each side of the bed (eliminating the need to search behind night stands or the bed)
Cons: WiFi connection that was very poor in my room (constantly cutting out despite being shown as having the strongest signal).
Location: Close to highway. This was just a sleep stop en route, not my destination.
Chosen just as a convenient place to stay on my way home on a road trip and for the price. Comfortable and well supplied (iron+small and full-size ironing board, small fridge, microwave, arm chair +ottoman. The most appreciated detail was an extension cord with 3 plugs on each side of the bed (eliminating the need to search behind night stands or the bed itself for even one outlet! YES!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Leigh H., Hotel Management
I want to thank you for staying at our hotel. I am happy that overall you had a pleasant experience with us. I am sorry that the wifi connection was not up to standard. I hope the next time you are passing through that you think of us and stay with us again. Thank you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Needs updated

Posted Sep 3, 2017
I have stayed at this hotel for many years while attending an annual motorcycle swap meet. The condition of the facility has slowly degraded - from upkeep to cleanliness to quality of breakfast. Our beds were unmade and bathroom was not cleaned during our two night stay. Even if we are in the same room, simple courtesies like that are expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Leigh H., Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and giving us your honest feedback. I am sorry that the room you were in was not cleaned daily like it should have been. That is not acceptable. We are updating our hotel little by little. I hope you do continue to stay with us and so that we can show you that we will do our best to make your stay the best we can. Thank you,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KCMO

Quiet convenient location

Posted Sep 3, 2017
We were in Davenport for the annual antique motorcycle swap and this hotel worked good for our needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Leigh H., Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad that our hotel worked well for you. I hope that you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Hotel was outdated and pool was under construction with no notice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Leigh H., Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry that the pool is under construction at this time. However the pool itself is open. We are working towards updating our hotel as we speak. Once again thank you for staying at our hotel. Thank you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: The Staff were AWESOME!!!
Cons: Never saw a Manager on property.
Location: Close to interstate, restaurants, and casino. Loved hearing crickets chirping in area.
There were issues with double charges for booking the room, but they attempted to correct them. Still trying to resolve them, but the Staff were very helpful in trying to resolve the issue. Other than that, this was a comfortable hotel, with great location to highways, and services.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Leigh H., Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad that the staff was great to you and that you had a good stay with us. I am sorry about the billing issues and I hope they have been fixed by now. I hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Notthern Michigan

Great room, exceptional value

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pleasantly surprised by the quality and cleanliness of this hotel. Extremely clean and the price was extremely affordable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Leigh H., Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad to hear you had a good experience with us. I hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from davenport, iowa

Shopping and eating close by

Posted Aug 29, 2017
We asked for quiet room and we didn't hear much all weekend. Room was quiet and housekeeping checked to see if we needed anything since staying two nights. Friendly staff all around would stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Leigh H., Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. I am glad you got a quiet room that you asked for and that the staff was friendly to you during your stay with us. I hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you,