Ratings based on 944 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Not real hotel at all , the area is good I don't like the building and the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brantford, Ontario, Canada

Great location near Rodeo Drive.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: The rooms are a little bare.
Location: Plenty of places to shop and eat in area.
An enjoyable stay. Will use this hotel again. Staff were always friendly. Great breakfasts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

Great getaway for East-coasters!

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Pool, overall vibe
Cons: too much commotion (landscaping, pool party) during prime sunbathing time.
Location: Hinoki & the Bird, 3rd Street
It's been too long since I visited LA and stayed at the Avalon. I wanted to include a stay during my vacation and it did not disappoint. Perfect weather, great staff and great amenities!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not like in the pictures

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: just the location
Cons: They need to improve service, maintenance...
First of all, I would like to inform that the hotel consist of three different buildings. Main building which has the least room number and you are lucky if they put you there. Two side buildings across the road and beware not to get hit and run by a car. Those two buildings has most of the rooms in the hotel. Those two die buildings does not have any security person. Its like you have a room in a building and you go alone. I have booked two rooms through expedia, one room with a queen bed and one room with two double beds. After my arrival they let me know that they do not have a two double bed room. They offered me that they can convert the two seat chair into a bed. I had to accept it. No other choice. when you lie on the converted bed you feel the iron frame under the mattress. The mattress is so thin. I called them around 10p.m. I told them that the converted bed is not healthy, the mattress is so thin... They told me that they no longer keep a housekeeping in the hotel around that time. Funny right, in the middle of Beverly Hills, you stay in a nice hotel and there is no housekeeping. They offered me a blanket... They don't do regular maintenance. The toilet paper stand is rusty, the air-conditioning works like a diesel engine. I let the hotel know about the air conditioning and they send a technician. All he did was to remove the wings of the machine. That did not help it at all. The swimming pool is dirty and etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Nice boutique hotel at affordable price for the area
5 out of 5
by Vincent

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Dolly

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
The Room aré very well. Maybe needs mirros. The Waymer to the Room dont Lilke. You have pass across.
5 out of 5
by Janice

Me

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Had to stay while my home was being repaired
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples,FL

Izzie ad Hollis at the front desk were exceptional

Posted Jun 5, 2017
The staff at this property are excellently trained and seem to really enjoy their jobs. Particularly, Izzie, who is so bright and inviting; a wonderful asset in hospitality. She was tremendously helpful with eating suggestions and just an overall pleasure to speak to. Hollis was also very informative about the surrounding area and great at following up about me enojoying my stay. This is a wonderful location with close proximity to Melrose and really great shopping. I would totally stay here again.The room was clean and spacious, the bathroom was extremely clean and well stocked with lotions,shampoo,etc. I got a room with a AC unit and many of the reviews seem to not like this so much; however if you sleep with any sleep sounds I'd venture to say that this would be a-okay. I totally plan on staying at this property again. I LOVED it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olympia, WA

Professional Staffers!!!!

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Orbitz
The hospitality exhibited by staffers was exceptional on my arrival and my departure!!! The room was clean, very comfortable and quiet which I appreciated very much. Thank you!!!