Ratings based on 1,274 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

great location

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, hotel staff, easy access to transportation.
Cons: Needs drawers to store belongings. Only one coffee shop downstairs. No other eatery close by. Could use additional lighting in bedroom.
Location: Near The Grove, Farmers Market, CBS Television City. Easy and frequent transportation to Hollywood.
This hotel is in the best location if going to CBS Television City and Hollywood. The Farmers Market and CBS are walking distance. If going to Hollywood, there is great public transportation. Only negative is there were no drawers to store clothing in our room. The bathroom was spotless and huge. We had trouble using the air conditioner until we had a maid show us how to operate it. There were no instructions available on unit and it was not the normal unit. Otherwise it was an excellent experience and we would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2017
I loved it everything is perfect the staff, the service, close to transportation,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Funky comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Pool. Design and style. Staff were great.
Cons: We had two rooms but one definitely smelled better. Consistency here is important. Also, our show handle had a screw missing and would fall off.
Location: Close to The Grove Mall and Farmers Market.
We enjoyed staying at the Beverly Laurel. Aside from the excellent, funky design, the rooms were comfortable and practical. The pool was also a huge plus in the hot weather.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun, young hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Rooms above attached cafe are noisy. Cafe has long hours.
It was a nice stay. More for the young at heart! Great staff; older motel-like property. Great location to The Grove, Farmer's Market, Fairfax district.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa Fe NM

A hot nightmare

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Cons: Staff attitude poor management
AC was out. Staff promised a room change second day then did not do it. Staff was young brats, very condescending and aloof. I could live with the heat, not their attitude. Not my first visit to this hotel, definitely my last!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Ok hotel. The staff are good. The pillows are not comfortable at all
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Would have been a nice hotel if the AC worked

Posted Sep 6, 2017
I booked this hotel because it was near the La Brea Tar Pits. Our flight was delayed and we didn't get there until midnight, which was 3 am for us. CA was in the middle of a heat wave. When we checked in, they regretfully told us the AC was broken. I was too tired to do anything about it, so we stayed. It was brutal. The bathroom was very nice and the bedroom was great. The sofa bed was not comfortable for our college age son. They refunded part of the cost and gave us free parking. The café Swingers was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Quaint and very centrally located.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location and Swingers. Nice employees. Nice pool
Cons: More towels and floor mat for bathroom
Location: We had a very sick family member at Cedar Sinai hospital and this hotel was perfect. It was closeby and had Swingers cafe for late night meals.
Lovely little motel/hotel. Swingers cafeteria is fantastic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

Very expensive for what it has to offer

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The elevator broke down during our stay and the pillows were not comfortable. The location was good. Many restaurants around the area
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Just OK; missed on a lot of details

Posted Jul 26, 2017
"Just OK." Can't think of a better way to sum it up. But, with just a little more effort, this hotel could be great. Liked the hotel size, layout, design, as well as the design and layout of the rooms. The sofa bed in the junior suite was awful; didn't know those thin, creaky spring sofa bed mattresses even existed anymore. Spend $150 and get a memory foam mattress for those sofa beds! Room was not as clean as it should be; stains, dirt along baseboards, etc. That stuff needs to be maintained. How much trouble would it be to have coffee in the lobby each morning? The coffee in the rooms is horrible and it's more than $5 for a plain cup of coffee next door. Finally, do away with the resort fee - it's not a lot of money, just nickel and diming.