Ratings based on 469 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Foster City, CA

Adequate for a quick stay

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Cons: The could better with keeping up with the property and cleaning.
Location: It's pretty centrally located and there is a good variety of restaurants within close distance.
We stayed for 3 nights and we had an OK experience. We really liked the design details and overall ambience, but besides that, this is really a motel. The room was too small for our family of four and there was no sitting area. It might work better for a party of two. We also thought there was enough to be desired on cleanliness. The hotel offers breakfast with adequate options and the sitting area by the breakfast bar and by the open courtyard was a nice touch. There is open parking on the street and it is pretty centrally located without being super busy, which was a plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Centrally located. Friendly staff. Comfortable beds and decent breakfast. Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Mark A, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, It is wonderful to see a great review and we thank you for taking the time to share. We are glad to see you appreciated the location, service, comfort, and breakfast options that the Carlyle provides. It is our sincere hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future, thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Easy car parking and central to a many LA sights

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: It's close to many things, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the complimentary breakfast buffet a good way to start each day.
Location: Via car this hotel is close to many LA sights. There's a good selection of food nearby as well as other things you might need / want.
The staff at this hotel were friendly and helpful right from the moment we arrived. The place has been recently refurbished and it shows and the new look is nice. Parking was easy and via car this hotel is close to many LA sights. There's a good selection of food nearby, a Walgreens within a few hundred feet, a medical centre a few doors away, and laundry places a block nearby. The complimentary breakfast buffet was a nice way to start each day. Our room was comfortable and had everything needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Mark A, Hotel Management
Dear David, Reviews such as yours are really rewarding to read. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we are thrilled you enjoyed what we have to offer. From all of us here at Carlyle Inn, thank you, and we hope to see you again very soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home Away from Home

Posted Aug 30, 2017
The hotel staff are so helpful. It was a wonderful stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Mark A, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for staying with us and the kind words towards the staff. We are so glad you had a wonderful stay and look forward to your next visit, thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Woodside, CA

well-located hotel - many great qualities

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: The staff is EXCELLENT. Everyone was friendly and made me feel cared for and important to them. The location was super - safe and interesting.
Cons: Expedia told them we wanted one king sized bed, when in fact we wanted two beds. This was Expedia's error, not the Carlyle's.
Location: It's on the edge of Beverly Hills, walking distance from nice neighborhoods, interesting shops, Starbucks (half a block away), shopping, and food.
This hotel is very pleasantly located, attractive with unique decor, and staffed by helpful, friendly people. Our room was comfortable and clean with a distant view of the Hollywood sign and a great air conditioner. One downside of this hotel was the "fitness center" facility; if you chose this hotel for its advertised gym, you should reconsider. This "fitness center" was a glorified closet with a few yoga mats, a treadmill, and a bike that couldn't be adjusted without tools that was set to accommodate someone significantly over 6'. There was also no air conditioning in the "fitness center". They did offer discounted gym passes to a nearby gym, though. Overall, the Carlyle was above average in many ways including the perks of convenient on-site parking and fast wifi, although it should be noted that the gym was very underwhelming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Mark A, Hotel Management
Dear Sarah, Our staff cannot thank you enough for the kind words; they strive to offer the best service and your compliments are truly rewarding. We are glad you enjoyed much of what the Carlyle Inn has to offer and also appreciate the feedback of the fitness center. We have just recently added a Yoga class on Wednesday mornings from 7:30am-8:30am that is free for hotel guests and led by an amazing, local Yoga instructor. Hopefully this helps compliment the small size of our fitness center and adds more options. Thank you again for staying with us - we hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Okay hotel to stay at if you cannot afford better.

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Nice breakfast and happy hour.
Cons: air conditioning unit, elevator, plumbing (had to flush toilet twice before waste would go all the way down), and cleanness of rooms.
I am not sure if I would stay at the Carlyle Inn again. I have several complaints about it. Had problems with the air conditioning unit in my room. The elevator went out for a day and half causing guests especially those with disabilities to use the stairway. In went flushing the toilet, had to flush it twice before all the waste would go down. The cleaning people did not do a good job in keeping the room clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Mark A, Hotel Management
Dear Terry, We are so grateful for the feedback you have provided and glad you enjoyed the happy hour and breakfast options. We apologize for the trouble with the elevator and water pressure; rest assured those options have been addressed and will no longer be an issue. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and helping us on our mission of continuous improvement. We certainly hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Very nice, clean boutique hotel. Just over a mile from Beverly Hills and easy access to lots of sites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Mark A, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for the 5-star review! We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and other travelers. Please come back and visit us again soon - thank you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is definitely dated. The staff was friendly though and the breakfast was decent. The bed was comfortable, the quality of toiletries were great and bathroom was clean. The carpet felt sticky (not sure if it's due to the humidity of the loud A/C). This hotel is definitely a 3 star and has a motel feel to it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Denise, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of the Carlyle Inn. We appreciate the feedback and certainly hope to see you again soon - thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Broken elevator

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Knee surgery so broken elevator was a big inconvenience
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Mark A, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review. Please know that the elevator is back running with upgrades and improvements and it will no longer be an issue during future stays. Please come back and visit soon which would give us another chance to improve our rating with you. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Denise, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for staying with us. Please give us a call in the future as we would like to welcome you as our guest once again - thank you!