Ratings based on 459 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Easy car parking and central to a many LA sights

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: It's close to many things, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the complimentary breakfast buffet a good way to start each day.
Location: Via car this hotel is close to many LA sights. There's a good selection of food nearby as well as other things you might need / want.
The staff at this hotel were friendly and helpful right from the moment we arrived. The place has been recently refurbished and it shows and the new look is nice. Parking was easy and via car this hotel is close to many LA sights. There's a good selection of food nearby, a Walgreens within a few hundred feet, a medical centre a few doors away, and laundry places a block nearby. The complimentary breakfast buffet was a nice way to start each day. Our room was comfortable and had everything needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Mark A, Hotel Management
Dear David, Reviews such as yours are really rewarding to read. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we are thrilled you enjoyed what we have to offer. From all of us here at Carlyle Inn, thank you, and we hope to see you again very soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home Away from Home

Posted Aug 30, 2017
The hotel staff are so helpful. It was a wonderful stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Mark A, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for staying with us and the kind words towards the staff. We are so glad you had a wonderful stay and look forward to your next visit, thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Woodside, CA

well-located hotel - many great qualities

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: The staff is EXCELLENT. Everyone was friendly and made me feel cared for and important to them. The location was super - safe and interesting.
Cons: Expedia told them we wanted one king sized bed, when in fact we wanted two beds. This was Expedia's error, not the Carlyle's.
Location: It's on the edge of Beverly Hills, walking distance from nice neighborhoods, interesting shops, Starbucks (half a block away), shopping, and food.
This hotel is very pleasantly located, attractive with unique decor, and staffed by helpful, friendly people. Our room was comfortable and clean with a distant view of the Hollywood sign and a great air conditioner. One downside of this hotel was the "fitness center" facility; if you chose this hotel for its advertised gym, you should reconsider. This "fitness center" was a glorified closet with a few yoga mats, a treadmill, and a bike that couldn't be adjusted without tools that was set to accommodate someone significantly over 6'. There was also no air conditioning in the "fitness center". They did offer discounted gym passes to a nearby gym, though. Overall, the Carlyle was above average in many ways including the perks of convenient on-site parking and fast wifi, although it should be noted that the gym was very underwhelming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Mark A, Hotel Management
Dear Sarah, Our staff cannot thank you enough for the kind words; they strive to offer the best service and your compliments are truly rewarding. We are glad you enjoyed much of what the Carlyle Inn has to offer and also appreciate the feedback of the fitness center. We have just recently added a Yoga class on Wednesday mornings from 7:30am-8:30am that is free for hotel guests and led by an amazing, local Yoga instructor. Hopefully this helps compliment the small size of our fitness center and adds more options. Thank you again for staying with us - we hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Okay hotel to stay at if you cannot afford better.

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Nice breakfast and happy hour.
Cons: air conditioning unit, elevator, plumbing (had to flush toilet twice before waste would go all the way down), and cleanness of rooms.
I am not sure if I would stay at the Carlyle Inn again. I have several complaints about it. Had problems with the air conditioning unit in my room. The elevator went out for a day and half causing guests especially those with disabilities to use the stairway. In went flushing the toilet, had to flush it twice before all the waste would go down. The cleaning people did not do a good job in keeping the room clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Mark A, Hotel Management
Dear Terry, We are so grateful for the feedback you have provided and glad you enjoyed the happy hour and breakfast options. We apologize for the trouble with the elevator and water pressure; rest assured those options have been addressed and will no longer be an issue. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and helping us on our mission of continuous improvement. We certainly hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Very nice, clean boutique hotel. Just over a mile from Beverly Hills and easy access to lots of sites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Mark A, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for the 5-star review! We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and other travelers. Please come back and visit us again soon - thank you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Broken elevator

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Knee surgery so broken elevator was a big inconvenience
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Mark A, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review. Please know that the elevator is back running with upgrades and improvements and it will no longer be an issue during future stays. Please come back and visit soon which would give us another chance to improve our rating with you. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from concord, ca

nice hotel but far from most things

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Hotel is good but if you don't have a car it's quite inconvenient coz not many places to eat or see around. The only elevator the hotel has was out of order when were there and I had a hard time climbing up and down specially with my bad knee. Otherwise, I would rate them very high. Room is nice and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Mark A, Hotel Management
Dear et, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. There actually are some great places to eat within walking distance so please just ask, we are happy to help you find a great place. The elevator should be back in service very soon so please come back and visit - thank you for the 4 star review!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Short stay for graduations

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Near UCLA
Cons: Please do not put 2 beds in a room that should fit for 1 bed only
We stayed there for 1 night . Did not have a chance to experience what the hotel has offered. The room we asked for had 2 queen beds. Pillows and beds are soft and comfy but the room is very compact, no space to put your luggages on the floor. The air conditioning noice is loud that I'm having a difficulty to sleep at night providing I was so exhausted for being on the roads >14 hrs. Location is good, easy to find and not far from UCLA and that is the reason why we chose this. We probably will not stay here again due to how the room is being set up, only 1 side table, not practical and hardly be able to move around
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Mark A, Hotel Management
Dear Avoid LA, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your experience - this is certainly of value to us so that we may make improvements moving forward. We apologize that the space in the room was not sufficient for your needs and that the air conditioning made it difficult to relax. Possibly next time you would be able to stay in one of our Executive King rooms which offers more space and square footage - this may definitely be more to your liking. Thank you again for sharing - we hope to see you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only came down to useful location

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness and maintenance.
Location: Lots to do in LA
First, the parking structure space was very limited and I'm sure the majority of cars that were parked on the lobby level floor were cars belonging to employees. Second, the elevator was out of service and the concrete stairs steps were not very level for a comforting and sound step especially having to hike all the way up to the fourth floor. The floor in the bathroom was sticky and the light outlets that everyone touches throughout the room and bathroom were filthy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Mark A, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for the feedback regarding your stay. We are saddened to hear that we did not meet the expectations that we set forth for our guests. We would certainly welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay at a time of your choosing. We always appreciate and value what we hear from our guests - thank you for sharing and we hope to hear from you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eastern los angeles cty

Location location location

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Close to my meeting venue, easy in and out
A quiet Sunday stay to avoid Monday morning traffic
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Mark A., Hotel Management
Dear Suzanne, Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We are glad that you appreciated the convenience of the Carlyle Inn as so many travelers do. Being so close to Beverly Hills and Downtown in a nice and safe location is definitely a plus for us and our guests. We all certainly look forward to your next visit, thank you!