Ratings based on 586 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best in LA

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Clean, sexy, chic atmosphere. Best service and accommodating staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Rooms were not worth the high price tag. Rooms were not clean enough, nor did they have the modern equipment typical of hotels of this price range.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, close to everything.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Staff was great! Service was impeccable! I was disappointed in the hotel rooms. They were dark with all these mirrors that were even darker. It made it harder to do my makeup and the small vanity mirror didn't help. After complaining over and over the staff decided to bring up a mirror and set it on a chair for me to do my makeup. The bathroom was nice and spacious with enough space to place our toilette, but the tub and shower was really inconvenient. If you turn the knobs the wrong way the water would get everywhere and that's another thing that was frustrating. I would definitely stay there again if these rooms were remodeled and there was more light coming in. One more thing, the pool needs to be a litttle deeper to enjoy it and take a dip. Whether you are traveling as a family with kids or just adults you cannot enjoy the pool because of its depth. That was another thing that was ridiculous. Hope these changes can be made to accomadate guest so we can continue to come back and stay there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5-star hotel 3-star setting

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was pretty disappointing. I booked a premier double but the one I stayed in looked more like superior. The hotel staff said premier is located on high floor, so I checked the pictures again on hotels.com and the only difference I could spot was that there's actually a bench end of bed in premier. It says city view on the website but apparently there's only a small window facing blocks that you just wanted to keep the curtain closed, and apparently it's not floor to ceiling window as shown in the picture. The bathroom was not very clean although front desk offered to send someone to clean it but those were stains that wouldn't be removed easily. What's worse was that the bathroom shown in the picture has handheld shower head but the one I stayed only had a fixed shower head which was so inconvenient, I must say the shower was completely different from the one shown in the picture.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kurosh

too bad about the new management

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is under new management after the sale to Marriott. Unfortunately some of what made this hotel special is now gone (I have stayed there many times in the past). Gold members used to be entitled to a 4pm late checkout - which was a huge benefit. That is now gone; Gold member late checkout is 2pm, and 4pm checkout requires a fee. There was no notice whatsoever of this policy change which is not acceptable. Also for the first time ever the hotel seemed dead/somewhat empty - a just reward for the new management's attitude. Still a great hotel but I suspect it will be all downhill from here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jul 3, 2017
It is my first time to stay at the SLS and it was great experience. The location of the hotel is unique and the area is just excellent. The rooftop pool is fun and great for relaxing and enjoying the sunset.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice location

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Don't believe the pictures.İts totally rubbish.There was an absolutly parking hook.Very high rates for parking.About 45$ per night.Very bad staff at reception.Their behaviour is not good for the hotel quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Business conference dictated our stay here.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Location is fabulous
Cons: In room dining could benefit from a review. It was our least favorite aspect ... twice. Forgetful service staff and uninspired food
Location: Many sights & opportunities within walking distance
From check-in to departure, staff was engaging, helpful and friendly.