Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Great hotel nestled in a quiet area

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Loved everything about this hotel. The bed was like a fluffy marshmallow. Very clean. Great food service. Definitely would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Other than needing a bit of a face lift this place is fantastic. Service is amazing. Room was large. Staff was sooo friendly and accommodating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good location, hotel just ok

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Seems to have had its day now. Gone are the rock stars of old, now it's staff who don't quite know how they treat their customers. Was told we had a surprise waiting for us for our honeymoon which was with the concierge who told us it was with the hotel reception, ended up with nothing as we gave listening to them both blame each other. I only hope it wasn't a gift one of our friends or family had paid for me. great pools and art throughout the hotel and a very cool gallery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

This is the best hotel experience in LA, period.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
I met The Who in the bar! Beautiful people making Hollywood deals everywhere by the pool. If you want glamour, Sunset Marquis is like no other place on earth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Shangri-La amidst chaos!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Wonderful room, comfy bed, quiet and fabulous breakfast. Will stay there next time I visit LA!
5 out of 5
by William

Okay but much better choices in same area.

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay for a short period of time. However, the prices were obviously based on the famous people who have stayed there before. We've experienced more comfort and pleasure at reasonably priced hotels/motels in better neighborhoods. Valet parking only at $40 per day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Awesome hotel with spacious rooms, great restaurant, and private villas. Would definitely stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely and historic hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Always something interesting to look at in the pool, grounds etc. Great people watching. But seriously, it has been years since I have been in a room with no coffee pot. I don't want to get dressed to go get the morning coffee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Very nice place but probably not for me

Posted Jul 6, 2017
I think this was my own fault. I chose a hotel that was too posh for my own good. I'll start with the positives, room was awesome! Huge, clean, comfortable, had all the amenities I needed. Location was great, easy for me to get to the places I wanted to go to. Negatives: most of the staff I interacted with were not friendly. But maybe it's because I don't dress up in designer suits when I'm on holiday and prefer to dress down. This hotel seemed to be for celebrity wannabes and I guess I was cramping the hotel's style. That said, the lady at the bar who served me and my local friends was very nice. WiFi - I can't believe that for the price I paid for the room I had to pay extra if I wanted WiFi. It's 2017, it's the US of A and they wanted to charge for WiFi? Shocking! I probably wouldn't stay here again because I just didn't feel welcome even though I was a paying customer. Shame because the room was really nice.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels