Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by jonathan

Great stay in Gil De France

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
My 8 year old daughter and I enjoyed a great stay at Gil De France, this last weekend. Unfortunately, the indoor pool wasn't open, due to remedial works. This was a disappointment, given that we'd chosen this hotel primarily for the pool. However, we found plenty to do in and around Cap D'Agde, and the public pool (at which Gil De France customers are offered a discount) was superb for both my daughter (slides, play area, etc.), and I (lane swimming). The hotel staff were nothing less than superb. They made a real effort to speak English, and were supportive over my French language ability - allowing me to speak with them in French, and responding in English. We didn't eat at the hotel, but only because we wanted to get out to see the local area. The hotel staff helped in the selection of restaurants, and offered to make reservations for us. All in all, a great stay. Thanks, primarily to the superb staff. Thanks you, guys!
4 out of 5
by Allan from ADELAIDE, SA, AUSTRALIA

Hotel Review Cap d'Agde

Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
Transit night - Coffee/Tea facilities would have been appreciated - not much spare floor space but was very quiet at night
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

depressing hotel at nice location

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
very basic 2 star hotel with very basic room - it is tall and small and small tv is almost at the ceiling, so it is depressing (you sleep in front of huge concrete wall). breakfast isn't nice although the setting where breakfast is served is nice. location is ok - beach is walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

One of the few hotels in Cap d'Agde

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: The swimming pool was heated and so it made up for the sea which was very cold.
Cons: We booked a superior room which turned out to be the smallest size for the hotel and it was quite small. However, the bathroom had a walk in shower
Location: The hotel is about 10 mins walk from s good sandy beach and about 20 mins to the first harbour area. It is also on the main bus route
We stayed for a week in August 2015 to get some blue sky and sunshine
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jakob from Arizona

Fascinating place,,

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: although i did not eat Breakfast, it is as i have seen a better that average Breakfast with good selection of food.
Cons: Internet Connection is Free in the Lobby and in the Rooms but not all rooms connect to it due to a poor System.
Location: Location is very good, in the Middle of the area, A rental Car is a MUST,,,
My primary stay at Cap D'agde was for the visit to the Naturist Village, Information about it is available on the Internet. The Hotel is 5 Minutes drive from the Village and a Rental car would be the only proper way to go when visiting the area. Closest Airport is Montpellier which is about one and a half hour Drive from Cap D'agde. Although the entire area there is nice, One has no need to Visit Cap D'agde for any reason other then spending time in the Naturist Village which is an incredible experience. The best time to visit would be in August which is also the busiest time and the most expensive time to be there however it is then when you get the full benefit of the place with all interesting People around you. Gil the France is a 2 Star Hotel, it is clean, friendly and fits the basic need of a stay. When going to the Naturist Village there is an Entry Fee into the Village. it is best to get a pass for the number of days you intend to be there and not buy one every day. It will be much cheaper as well.
4 out of 5
by Scott from US

Good value and location

Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels
Our stay at Gil de France was enjoyable and relaxing. The heated pool was the perfect refuge from the unseasonably cool and windy weather we experienced in mid-May. We did go to several nearby beaches to enjoy the sun and restaurants, and each was less than a kilometer away. The port area is also nearby. The breakfast was fresh and plentiful, with the croissant/juice/coffee/fruit/yogurt supplemented with pain au chocolat if you were early enough. The staff was consistently pleasant and helpful. The only negative note was the hotel restaurant: it is not worth a visit. We decided to eat in the restaurant our first night at the hotel, and the food was tasteless and barely edible. If you want a simple, reasonable meal, you're better off going a kilometer or less to one of several restaurants serving Itlisn food or mussels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mags from Galashiels

We would certainly visit again.

Posted Aug 28, 2012
Pros: lovely pool, great restaurant, comfortable, welcoming staff.
Cons: could get noisy outside with passersby
Location: within walking distance of beaches, restaurants and main theme parks
My husband and I stayed at Gil De France for eleven nights in August 2012. The hotel suited us well; there is a lovely little pool, a great restaurant (I recommend the Cafe Gourmande as a dessert!) and bar. The staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming. And Leon the parrot gives you a warm welcome too. The hotel is a short walk from Aqualand and the The Isle de Loisirs theme park - so great for families. Beaches are also within walking distance. A slightly longer walk (half hour) will get you along to the port area which is buzzing with shops, restaurants and luxury yachts! Our room was comfortable and very clean, but a bit on the small size, I'd probably upgrade to a 'superior' room next time. The shower was great! The hotel is in a quiet area, but could be noisy at night as people walked past on their way home from the night clubs and bars. (Just to be clear, it was JUST noise, no trouble of any sort.) We would certainly visit again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice and helpful

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice and welcoming place. This family run hotel has a very nice atmosphere and is very recommendable.