Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from woking, uk

Classy place in need of some TLC

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I loved our stay, with everyone so friendly and attentive. The kids were treated as "princesses" with their own toiletries and welcome pack (colouring in etc) The hotel is need of renovation (you'll read this in my other reviews), but you pay for what you get and the hotel was full (which tells a story in itself). One tip: Lunch pool side portions were enormous - try not to over order!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Emmanuelle C., Guest Experience Director, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, We first would like to thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa. What a pleasure to read your positive words on your familial experience among us. Your compliments on the sympathy of our staff, the welcoming kit for your children, as well as your lunch by the pool have been shared with our Ambassadors. Everyone was touched by your appreciations, we are all dedicated to let you experience magnifique moments. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you for a future stay in family on the Basque Coast! Best Regards, Emmanuelle C., Communication and Guest Experience Director
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Musty hotel that needs some renovation

Posted Jul 24, 2017
The hotel sits on the beach which is nice, but if your room is too low, you'll have people looking right into your room. The hallways smell musty, beds are not that comfortable and the AC didn't work. Also, the pool is a salt water pool, which might sound nice, but if you know what it's like to stay on the coast, you'll know that a nice clorinated pool is a lot better and more refreshing. You get out of the pool feeling like you are caked with salt. I'd recommend they go to clorinated pool and if guests really want salt water they can just go to the beach. The beach is pretty and very active. I thought this hotel was a 3 star hotel with a nice view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Marine F., Communication & Guest Experience Assist, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Expedia following your stay at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa. We are very sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused. Be assured that your observations have been communicated to the management who will take the appropriate measures. We kindly inform you that the air conditioning has been fixed. We hope we will have the occasion to offer you the service quality and experience we attend to reach during a future stay in Biarritz. Best Regards, Marine F., Communication & Guest Experience Assistant
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for rating the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa on Expedia. We are very sorry to discover that your stay did not meet your expectations. We hope we will have the opportuity to offer you the experience we attend to provide during a future stay on the Basque Coast. Best Regards, Marine F., Communication and Guest Experience Assistant
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Good newish Hotel. Very clean and the Staff excellent. Our bedroom was disappointing in that whilst all the comforts were in place internally we were allocated possibly the worst location to claim to have a sea view In the hotel. The balcony did not receive one second of Sun due to its position , so was never useable. Not really like the description we were given. Having said that , apart from the Restaurent prices( with no alternative eating place) the food and service provided was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from springfield, Mo

Awesome Bedding

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Most amazing bed we have ever slept in. A full 9 1/2 feet wide. Now I want one.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Everything is within walking distance.
Most beautiful area in all of France and hotel is located to view these awesome sights. The Spa experiences and food, however, are rediculously priced. Only the very rich can experience it all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Responsable Expérience Clients, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comment. I am glad to read that you have really appreciated our location and the spa. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one ! Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointing

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Paid €360 exc breakfast for standard room but decided to upgrade for another €140 Room overlooked the sea and pool and was a good location but small and very tired looking . Bathroom old fashioned and small with basic shower over bath . Restaurant average , but pool bar poor and ridiculously expensive . €24 for a club sandwich without fries and €12 for a small beer ! Stayed in Sofitels before and rate this as worst .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Emmanuelle Cabannes-Mahé Responsable Expérience Cl, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Biarritz le Miramar Thalassa Sea & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Not at all 5 stars.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
This is not a Sofitel 5 stars. I had severe problems with the air conditioning, and the hotel is not well maintained, specially in the corridors and common areas. I had a terrible noise wakening me up on the second night, and they discounted a 20% in the room rate because of that. That was ok, but overall, really disappointed with this stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Disappointment

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Not a 5 star hotel. Room looked out on to a wall with only marginal sea view and no natural light. Balcony of no use as always dull. Fitness centre either had no air conditioning or was closed:pool area tightly packed sun beds with decking too hot to walk on: very limited facility in room to charge phones etc Overall wish we had chosen another hotel given what we were paying.
3 out of 5
by bernard from west palm beach

need some renovation

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
this hotel needs some renovation, especially at the pools (outdoors and indoors). Hammam was old and the overall condition of the thalassotherapy area was old as well