Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Matthew

Nice location, quiet and peaceful

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel near Bicester Village. Room was nice enough, though the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable, the shower was broken, leading to a leak on the bathroom floor. Good service in the hotel, friendly staff. Food in the hotel is very overpriced for what you get. Whilst the menu sounds enticing, what you actually get is basic pub food and not a lot of it. On the plus side, the hotel is in a beautiful location, surrounded by trees and nature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Great room right at the top of house (maids room) so we were very much alone which was great. It was a lovely room too. Reception on check in was very rude though. Not very welcoming.
5 out of 5
by James

Lovely period hotel, great staff, relaxing and qui

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Superb period hotel staff excellent, comfortable bed in large room with great facilities. Some areas need attention the bathroom needs upgrading.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grumpy staff

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
First impressions count. Wasn't greeted was grunted at shocking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable stay in historic surroundings

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Friendly staff, log fire in reception/snug bar, amazing history and architecture. Comfortable bed and fresh feeling crisp sheets, cosy room. Nice cooked english breakfast was included in our rate.
Cons: Beer selection limited to bottled varieties, no bitter. Some aspects of the bathroom were odd. Door stop in the middle of floor, loo positioned right next to hot radiator, shower over bath rather than separate cubicle
Location: Not too far from M40/A34/Bicester Village for shopping/Blenheim Palace.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unclean Overpriced Tired Hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
Overpriced and tired. Food was expensive for what it was - having tried the local pub onto to find it was closed after water in the dark to get to it (There is a menu for it on the website). Room wasn't cleaned, and found hair and then a plaster stuck to me toe!!! Was charged a cheaper rate £40 for the room on check out having being informed - on top of my Hotels.com charging me the correct amount.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful dinner but the rest not so good

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing old building which housed the reception area, bar and dining areas. Staff were few and seemed totally out of control. People were trying to check in and no-one was on reception at 5.30pm. Our dinner in the old banqueting hall was wonderful and a highlight of our trip. At breakfast the staff were out of control....tables weren't set and used tables weren't being cleared.Guests were waiting and becoming agitated. We were housed in the converted outbuilding where the rooms were not air conditioned and the beds were extremely narrow. Fittings were dated in the bathrooms and there was no lift so we had to drag our suitcases down the steep stairs. Upon checking out we were charged twice for our room and it took a lot of trouble to explain to the receptionist that she had made an error. She did refund the overcharge with several excuses as to why it wasn't her fault.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yukon, Canada

Amazing historical stay

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Stunning accommodation takes you back in time. A visual surprise around every nook and creaky stair case. The staff are lovely and breakfast options were plentiful. They even try to accommodate gluten free. Next time we will advise them though. We can't wait for "next time".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Nice manor house hotel.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Peaceful English garden setting. Rooms were up to date and comfortable. Hotel is about 20 minutes from Oxford by car and away from the hustle and bustle of the city.