Ratings based on 563 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Unique hotel in a perfect location!

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: It's unique decor and the breakfast was fantastic!
Cons: Pool was closed, but that was a seasonal thing.
Location: Easy access to both ski areas, shopping and Walgreens if you forgot to pack certain items.
We really loved the unique character of the hotel! It was in a perfect location for our needs. The breakfast each morning was delicious and the room was very comfortable. This particular hotel has such a different aesthetic and was such a nice backdrop for wedding photos! We look forward to returning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vista, CA

Great location to bear mountain and snow summit

Posted Apr 12, 2016
My son and brother and I decided to come up for the weekend to enjoy the last couple of snowboarding days bear mountain had before it closed. We called it quits early and had three hours before we could officially check in. Penny, at the front desk, let us check in early, thankfully because we all needed a rest before dinner. Wevll definitely stay here next year When the snow starts again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice place - economical, clean, friendly & quiet

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Quiet location, yet close enough to the main blvd. that everything is minutes away. Nice decor. Breakfast area is convenient with plenty of choices.
Cons: Add chairs & carpet to Game room (a bit loud & echoey)! Also, fix the draft caused by the outside door. Upgrade to TVs with USB ports or offer media
Location: Quiet location... yet close enough to the main blvd. that everything is minutes away. There are 2-3 restaurants/taverns within walking distance.
We took a short 3-day trip to Big Bear to teach our 2 kids to ski. BW Chateau (which is fun say, as it is) was a great place to stay. Convenient and close to the main Big Bear Blvd that driving anywhere was a snap. Stores and restaurants were close enough to walk to. The free Wi-Fi was convenient to use and fast. TV was a nice, easy-to-use LG LCD (note: no USB plug to watch our own movies on; Also no DVD player - yes, I could have brought my own, had I checked first!). Exercise room has plenty of equipment + a TV to watch while sweating it out! Breakfast cafe was great - very convenient with plenty of choices (great 'make-your-own' waffles!). Just enough staff to keep the place running smoothly, but not too many that you feel like you are being watched all the time! Everyone was very friendly. We will definitely be coming back again when the snow picks up! Hmmm, probably during the summer months also!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Not what you would expect from the lobby photos

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Cons: Very late check in Paper-thin walls, hearing all neighbors Poor ventiliation and our room filled with the stench of marijuana from people next to us through the vents cheap small scratchy towels Limites amenities; no spa, no lounge, no room service, no resturaunt past breakfast, no microwave or mini fridge, and hotel is very old inside, and is desperate for improvements Our bathroom sink was clogged Housekeeping attempts to come in way too early at 8:30am when we're still getting dressed. Limited parking I was cold at night and you can't adjust thermostat in your room. The complimentary breakfast is not good. Stick to the bananas they put out. Avoid the coffee altogether and hit up Starbucks nearby. Even if you take your suitcases up in an elevator you still have to carry them down some stairs and the second floor is tri-level and no bell hop. Toilet paper and tissue was the cheapest one-ply that can be found. Pros: Staff has the friendliness and kindness down pat. Good customer service. Location is great, close to everything. Bed was good- not great. Flat screen tv (albeit mounted to the wall in a strange place) and plenty of channels. Easy check out We had a nice time but Big Bear is desperate for a a high end hotel. The pictures online make you think this might be it- but it isn't.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Room was loud and near the utility room and stairs. It was not comfortable and too small. Odd furniture in the room. Didn't sleep well. It would have been fine if it weren't such a pricy rate. For what we paid it should have been better
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from São Jose dos Campos, SP, Brasil

Muito agradável

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Tudo
Location: Estações de ski, Walgreens e restaurantes.
Ótimas instalações, charmoso. Climarização perfeita. Equipe amigavel e pronta a judar. Wi-fi free. Estacionamento free. Próximo a tudo. CAfé da manhã incluído
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel cerca de las pistas ski

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Un poco fea la decoración pero el hotel muy bien. El desayuno bueno incluido
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy Big Bear Get Away

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Clean hotel with friendly staff. The complimentary breakfast was great not only did it have a waffle station and pastries, oatmeal fresh fruit and yogurt but it also had made to order eggs, omlets, sausage and potatoes. Decor is a bit outdated but the rooms were super clean and spacious.
4 out of 5
by Manuel V

Cozy

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice atmosphere Pleasant and nice personel
4 out of 5
by Rose Marie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels