Ratings based on 781 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Convenient location, relatively quiet, pleasant.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Good location.
Satisfactory experience....Clerk was polite, friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by sherri, Hotel Management
thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
First night there was the worst. Very loud party next door. Called the front desk twice. First time said they would take care if it. Waited an hour and called back. I was told they had to wait for the " houseman" to come back which would be in about 10 minutes. 2 hours later the party finally broke up on its own. The next night was quiet and peaceful. Woke up the first morning after the party and there was no hot water for a shower. So I took a cold one. It was fixed later that day. Other than those incidents it was a nice hotel. Not sure if I would go back though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Frannie Eldridge, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We're sorry that you had to deal with this issue. We will try hard to fix these problems. We do hope you will give us another chance. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and safe place to stay.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Nice breakfast. Really Like the gym, pool table, air hockey, and ping pang table. Cozy pool and spa. Like the paintings in the hall way and room.
Cons: Insulation between rooms. I could hear clearly the conversations in the adjacent rooms.
Location: Kayak, fishing, hiking.
Very friendly staff, beautiful landscape outside. Easy parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Frannie , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Room was clean and spacious. Good complimentary breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Frannie, Hotel Management
Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Weekend with the wifey

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Cons: Room temp was a little warm. Can not adjust temp. AC please!
Nice hotel, excellent location. Free breakfast, bonus!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Frannie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We value your feedback. We do apologize for the inconvenience of the A/C problem. We do hope that you will give us another chance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2017
Run down and old for the price. Room was not ready at 4pm check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Frannie, Hotel Management
We are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced. We will try hard to fix the issues. Thank you for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Kitchen staff

Posted May 22, 2017
My partner and I loved the stay at the chateau! It was only 5 mins from the village and walking distance from Walgreens. We loved on of the kitchen staff, her name was Jeanette. She was very friendly and also sugggested a few activities for us to do while in town. She made sure we were taken care of when it came to our food service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants good breakfast, a nice stay where you can socialize and the amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Frannie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a nice time. Hope to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mission Viejo, Ca

Nice hotel, close to everything.

Posted May 21, 2017
Breakfast included, ample parking & the staff was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Frannie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Living Like Royals

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
We really enjoyed the beautiful surroundings within the building and outside as well. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfasts during our stay and the staff who were in charge of preparing and setting up the buffet breakfast were wonderful. We also enjoyed having the billiards table available to play a few games of pool. It is so nice that the workout room is available on-site too. Our room was always clean and well-stocked. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We do hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We enjoyed our stay

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
We had a very nice stay at this Best Western Big Bear Chateau. We brought our dog, since this hotel was listed as pet-friendly. Do be aware... nowhere was it listed on the booking website or hotel website that any extra fees would be charged for our dog. When we checked in, the clerk asked for a "one-time $40 pet fee". I told her there was no mention of a pet fee anywhere, and we were already paid through hotels.com. She was nice about it and let it go, but that made us wonder. We expected to get a less than great room, since we were getting a "dog room". We were very pleasantly surprised at how clean and nice it was. The working gas fireplace was a real treat, the room was stocked with supplies for making coffee and tea, and the bathroom had lovely soaps and lotions for our use. The room was also close to a very convenient grassy area designated for pets, that was kept clean and nice for everyone. Cleanup bags were readily available and very handy. Breakfast was great... made-to-order egg dishes, and everything else you could want from make-your-own-waffles to oatmeal, cold cereals and pastries. The only down side was there were only two bath towels in our bathroom and when we asked for another towel, we were told we would get one right away. Our room phone did not work and that was supposed to be checked out too, but no one ever came to do that, or bring the extra towel. Not enough to get upset about. We would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you again in the future.