Ratings based on 860 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Dirty room

Posted Aug 16, 2016
We booked the standard room with a kitchen for four nights, but only stayed for 30 minutes and immediately left. As soon as we walked in the room, we found crumbs all over the carpet, old food and mess in the refrigerator that previous guests had left, cigarette butts on the balcony, dust on the coffee table, etc. The bed sheets had multiple stains. The male staff at the front desk was nice and apologetic after he went to check the room condition. This hotel needs a good cleaning and major updates overall. Their website pictures are very misleading. We ended up staying at Holiday Inn, which was much cleaner and far more comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Potential with a lot of REQUIRED MAINTENANCE

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: has a little play ground. Also has outside speakers, but depend on the choice of the office people (for me was good).
Cons: Maintenance
Location: close to downtown, but still use the car to go to places (everything is spread out).
Need to remind to get the room cleaned. Towels where always incomplete, needed to ask to get additional once. Microwave missing turn table, furniture (desk and outside table) broken, need to request to get it fixed. Every time touching the window screen, screen fall out. Unfortunately Big Bear Lake was about 15 foot below, no direct lake access, no boats etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we expected

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Good WiFi, and has a nice gas fireplace in the room.
Cons: We did not have any contact with staff until we turned in the key. We were not asked if we enjoyed our stay, nor were they personable in any other way
Location: Beautiful area! Very much a ski community. We were only passing through but there were lots of shopping opportunities and other outdoor activities.
We booked this room late at night, so we got there in the dark, however we booked a room with the expedia/hotel description "garden view". We had a good laugh when we found our room to have a small patio below ground level, with a small area with backyard quality playground equipment and a ping pong table. Not much of a garden. The lake is also VERY low, so there was really no "lake" near the resort. The room refrigerator was in SERIOUS need of defrosting, and the expectation was to wash our own coffee cups and coffee pot or we would be charged $20.00. However, they did not provide dish soap. Unsettling to think of how many people before us used them and didn't wash them with soap! YUCK!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

by the water

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The view and that it's Pet Friendly
Cons: A/C, or if not fans. The ceiling fan was just not enough to cool down the room.
Location: Good location Near the Pine Knot Marina. rented a Kayak at Big Bear Lake Kayak Rentals. Few blocks away from bars, restaurants and theater.
with the exception that the rooms do NOT have A/C units, everything was great and it is PET FRIENDLY!. The room was clean and had a fire place (not needed during summer), blue-ray player, small fridge and microwave. we did have to go buy a fan to put on the window to cool down our room. the view we had was great, however, due to the drought we were not next to the water as shown in the picture. the location was great and close to the little down town area they have off Pine Knot Ave. with bars, restaurants, movie theater and sport rental locations (boats, kayaks, bikes, etc.), but The room was not worth what we paid for. Even though i do give it a "4 Pleasing" rating, i will probably try out other places next time we go back to Big Bear, with out our pup so we are not limited on locations to stay, since this was the fist location we've stayed at and have no other hotels or cabins to compare it to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Cortnie, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Clean room

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Clean room, Nice older Man (think it was the owner) that checked us in.
Cons: I wouldn't have a staff person handle complaints that isn't used to dealing with the public.
Location: Great winter location! Lots to do in the winter. Starbucks is nearby. Plenty of food choices. Small town atmosphere.
We didn't know there was no a/c. So traveling in 106 degrees and finding out there was no a/c, was a serious bummer. We went there in search of a place for a family Christmas get together. The hotel manager was nice, checked us in, and things were fine. The a/c was unfortunate, but we should have asked, I suppose. The evening was quiet and peaceful. some kids were running around, but we have 4 grand kids so that didn't bother us. We were supposed to stay for 2 nights but, a couple above got into a fight, the next morning that sounded awful. I went to the managers office, to tell him they were physically fighting, and there was someone else there. This man, said, What do you want me to do about it? I said, I don't know, call 911? He could tell I was angry so he said, I got it. I stated, sure you got it. He said, I got it. I realize a place of business cannot predict these things, but you can predict your behavior to it. Since this person, didn't seem to care what was happening, I felt uncomfortable to stay. We cancelled our second night, and left to our next stop of our vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Cortnie, Hotel Management
I am so sorry about your experience. Sometimes we have no control over the guests behaviors. Thank you for your feedback.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calimesa

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: The balcony (outside seating.
Cons: Need for more comfortable chairs in the room and on the balcony. Need for sprucing up of balcony decor.
Location: Fairly close to things.
Staff was friendly and helpful. Stairway needed some repairs. Cottonwood tree near our room was a saving grace.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Cortnie, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We are currently upgrading the lodge. I hope you can come see us again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HB Calif

Third time here

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Room w a view of the lake is awesome
Cons: Fine the way it is. Cozy mountain hideaway
Location: Village is walking distance, eating out, shopping, nightlife
Found it on line last year by accident. Knew nothing about it. Had great service and a great stay. Went back a few months later, same. So had to go back this year. Would like to make it up their in the Fall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Cortnie, Hotel Management
I am so happy you had a great stay! Please come see us again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price has what you need if you need a place

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Cons: Could use some touch up, and repairs in the rooms.
Location: Fishing, Parks, and Downtown area
For the price I did not expect much but was pleasantly surprised at the extras that were available. For the price it has a bed and walls to sleep and we used the BBQ grills they had to cook fish we had from the lake.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Cortnie, Hotel Management
We are so happy you had a great stay! Please come see us again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Very nice place to stay. Staff was very friendly. Close walk to shops and places to eat. Highly recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Cortnie, Hotel Management
Thank You for your great review. Please come see us again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Quite getaway
NO AC...had to borrow a fan from the office staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Deanna, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. Your feedback is appreciated.