Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Yes

Posted Apr 17, 2018
The hotel was OK everything was close to that if you go shopping
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2018 by Rita, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location was good

Posted Apr 9, 2018
Terribly dated. The stairway alone to our room looked like it hadn't seen a vacuum in ages. The room decor and mattress was from the 90's. Christmas decor?...in April??
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2018 by Rita, Hotel Management
We sorry to hear you felt this way. Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff, needs a remodel...badly

Posted Apr 1, 2018
When we first arrived we had a small issue that the staff took care of immediately, that was great. However, upon close observation it can be seen the rooms really need a remodel. I hope this will be taken into consideration. Overall we had a nice time, thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2018 by Rita, Hotel Management
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are currently in the process of updating our rooms as well as some items. Thank you for your honest review and we hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yuma

Great location. Staff very friendly

Posted Feb 23, 2018
Hotel room better than discribed. Great location, close to restaurants and shops
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2018 by Tamra, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 23, 2018
Very nice staff, easy to deal with. It was a slow period for the town and they offered us a free upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2018 by adhali , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Black Forest Lodge

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: Its convenient location to the areas we wanted to see while visiting Big Bear.
Cons: Room carpeting, it is dated and a shaggy blue (at least the room we stayed in), but we knew this before we made our reservation.
Location: Close to "The Village" shop and restaurant area. Near to the marina and to the ski attractions (Summit and Bear Mountain Resorts).
The lodge is located close to "The Village" area and to Summit Mountain. It is just a few miles away from Bear Mountain, so therefore location is very convenient. The staff was friendly and when we asked recommendations regarding where to eat, they provided honest and valuable information. The room was comfortable and the lodge area was calm, both during the morning and evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by adha, Hotel Management
thank you for you review .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Big Bear in January 2018

Posted Jan 15, 2018 on Hotels
Well taken care of.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by adha, Hotel Management
thank you so much for your review see you son !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great cozy cottage feel

Posted Jan 11, 2018 on Hotels
We love staying here it wasn’t our first time. It’s just a cute cottage feel with the decor and location. It’s reasonable priced for what you get and most rooms come with a fire place. WiFi could have been better but that’s all I have to complain aboit. Parking is good rooms are cozy and heater works ! So can’t complain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by adha, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to make such a lovely review .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Price and location are strong

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: See above
Cons: Mattresses linens and pillows could be upgraded, though they are workable.
Location: Big Bear's Snow Summit. Grizzly Café. Big Bear Village.
We had a fun stay while my college age kids snowboarded at Big Bear. The lodge is located in a great and easy location to everything and it's even on the best side of the street you need for the very busy main road. Most importantly walking distance to the village which is a nightmare to drive through and park. This alone is almost worth the price. Laundry facilities very close by. The amazing Grizzly Café very close by. Parking is easy and safe. The staff is friendly. The rooms are decent. The fireplaces are fun and a great touch. So, you are essentially paying a good rate for a decent room and a great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by adha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review !
4 out of 5
by Luis

Great stay

Posted Jan 4, 2018 on Hotels
Super friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by adha, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review