Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Really nice place

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: I loved everything. The people were very nice and the place was beautiful.
Cons: The only thing I would have improved was the check in, but I understand people cannot be up all day and night. Read the check in before booking!
Location: Hiking, down the street you can rent bikes, the Village is a very busy place with lots of places to eat and shop, the lake is right there, and more
This place was very nice to visit. My partner and I went up for a nice vacation and were not disappointed. The only thing that sucked was that the place closes at 9; I did not read carefully enough, so when we got to Big Bear around 10:30, there was nowhere for us to go. The big Holiday in down the street was open thank goodness, but the Knickerbocker people did try to call me 3 times and left voicemails. I should have listened to them, I just didn't recognize the area code. The people there were very pleasant and were very accommodating. We will definitely be visiting again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Hideaway in the woods

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Welcomed by the very friendly owner and jazz music. Loved spacious bathroom. Very clean room (Though housekeeper forgot to take our trash). Nice complimentsry continental breakfast. Free Wifi. Too bad they do not offer dinner to their hotel guest any more (they hold receptions, etc. there). Will come back for sure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Just wow!

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, placement right in the woods, peace and quietness.
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Hiking to see a sunset, Big Bear Village is only 5 minute walk
This Hotel is right in the woods, not too far from Big Bear Village (5 minute walk), but far enough for you to hear nothing but nature. The room was so clean that I failed to find a single spot with dust! Beds were comfortable and super clean. One cool thing is that there is a road right behind the property. If you take a hike, or even drive, you will see an amazing spot to watch sunset over Big Bear Lake and the city. The property has benches all over the place, a picnic table in a wooded area, and also table and chairs near rooms, outside on a balcony. We loved it here and will return!
5 out of 5
by Carlos from San Juan, PR

Great location, commodities and more

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
I moved to L.A. not very long ago, and since then this was my 1st Big Bear visit. I spent quite some time reading reviews on different hotels and this one caught my eye. I was not disappointed! Great location for a getaway, off the main road (no noise, and other car activity), walking distance to the Village, and very close to Bear Mountain. The place is very comfy, with some friendly tenants, great chef, great Breakfast, and views. There's even a nearby trail to hike, and some other car accessible roads to explore by yourself. The room we got was the smallest, and it was small but great for a couples' getaway. It was clean, quiet and peaceful. Just what we needed.
5 out of 5
by Anna from Las Vegas, NV

July 4th firework show

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
Knickerbockers has now began our 4th of July celebration stay since 2013
4 out of 5
by Adam from OC

Nice B&B, awesome food and service.

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
Super cute B&B just a few blocks away from The Village. We stayed in the converted carriage house in a cute but small room. The grounds are very pretty and the staff is amazing. Ed, the owner, is full of southern charm and hospitality. The morning breakfasts were amazing, home made, and nothing ordinary. We are already planning our trip back.
5 out of 5
by Ana Paula from Mexico City

Great hotel, amazing lodge, excellent restaurant.

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel, great staff and incredibly nice. 5 minute drive from Snow Summit or Big Bear mountain, the lodge was beautiful, breakfast is amazing, brunch and dinner even better... The owners are always looking over so that everything is perfect, it was a great stay overall.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Very comfortable and the owner is extremely easy to talk with and ask questions. The breakfast was perfect and it was within walking distance to the village.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach

Quaint.

Posted Feb 18, 2016
This place is charming. With the forest as your backyard, the outside looks like a christmas post card. The room was clean and the bed comfy. Very friendly and helpfull staff. The breakfast is sooo good and they had coffee and pastries all day. Although it is a walking distance from the village and a few minutes from Snow Summit, it is a peaceful place. Can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2016
Great place with a lot of charm and character. Inn Keeper is very nice and helpful too. Would definitely come back