Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego, CA

Nice cozy and romantic

Posted Feb 14, 2017
We had great time and food is delicious. Bed couldve been more comfy :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice cozy room close to kids church winter camp!

Posted Jan 18, 2017
The owners were very friendly and inviting when we arrived. Nice room and I have to say the bed was very comfortable (with having a bad back, I was concerned) Next time we visit Big Bear we will keep this place in mind! Thank you!!!
5 out of 5
by Chris

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
New owners from 3 years ago and they were awesome - so friendly and welcoming. We loved our stay and plan on going back. The food was great - especially at the Bistro. The views were wonderful, location within walking distance to all the restaurants but far enough away to not hear any noise. The history of the building is really interesting and adds to the charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Cozy place, super nice hosts.

Posted Jan 5, 2017
The hotel is rustic, cozy, and very sweet. We definitely recommend it. The hosts are from Louisiana, so if the modest breakfast isn't enough for you, stick around for the brunch and get some authentic Louisiana gumbo!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming and comfortable

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was amazing and the owners so very nice and accommodating! The house and individual rooms are beautiful and comfortable. We are looking forward to going back in the summer for our anniversary. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Really nice place

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: I loved everything. The people were very nice and the place was beautiful.
Cons: The only thing I would have improved was the check in, but I understand people cannot be up all day and night. Read the check in before booking!
Location: Hiking, down the street you can rent bikes, the Village is a very busy place with lots of places to eat and shop, the lake is right there, and more
This place was very nice to visit. My partner and I went up for a nice vacation and were not disappointed. The only thing that sucked was that the place closes at 9; I did not read carefully enough, so when we got to Big Bear around 10:30, there was nowhere for us to go. The big Holiday in down the street was open thank goodness, but the Knickerbocker people did try to call me 3 times and left voicemails. I should have listened to them, I just didn't recognize the area code. The people there were very pleasant and were very accommodating. We will definitely be visiting again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Hideaway in the woods

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Welcomed by the very friendly owner and jazz music. Loved spacious bathroom. Very clean room (Though housekeeper forgot to take our trash). Nice complimentsry continental breakfast. Free Wifi. Too bad they do not offer dinner to their hotel guest any more (they hold receptions, etc. there). Will come back for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Just wow!

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, placement right in the woods, peace and quietness.
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Hiking to see a sunset, Big Bear Village is only 5 minute walk
This Hotel is right in the woods, not too far from Big Bear Village (5 minute walk), but far enough for you to hear nothing but nature. The room was so clean that I failed to find a single spot with dust! Beds were comfortable and super clean. One cool thing is that there is a road right behind the property. If you take a hike, or even drive, you will see an amazing spot to watch sunset over Big Bear Lake and the city. The property has benches all over the place, a picnic table in a wooded area, and also table and chairs near rooms, outside on a balcony. We loved it here and will return!
5 out of 5
by Carlos from San Juan, PR

Great location, commodities and more

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
I moved to L.A. not very long ago, and since then this was my 1st Big Bear visit. I spent quite some time reading reviews on different hotels and this one caught my eye. I was not disappointed! Great location for a getaway, off the main road (no noise, and other car activity), walking distance to the Village, and very close to Bear Mountain. The place is very comfy, with some friendly tenants, great chef, great Breakfast, and views. There's even a nearby trail to hike, and some other car accessible roads to explore by yourself. The room we got was the smallest, and it was small but great for a couples' getaway. It was clean, quiet and peaceful. Just what we needed.
5 out of 5
by Anna from Las Vegas, NV

July 4th firework show

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
Knickerbockers has now began our 4th of July celebration stay since 2013