Ratings based on 626 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monrovia, CA

Excellent location

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The amazing view of the lake, and the very friendly and helpful staff, especially Carlos at the front desk.
Cons: Minor updating of furnishings
Location: I don't think there is much to do nearby, since it is quite a walk to the main boulevard. but there are plenty of amenities here
We booked two condos for our friends and my husband and I to come for the 4th of July fireworks. I chose this lodge because it was right on the shore, but nobody told me what an amazing sense of community and spirit they have here! We had no idea, but there were festivities planned for the whole day, a bbq, and live band on the patio. There was no need to go anywhere, because we just joined everyone on the beach for the fireworks. The condo itself had an amazing view of the lake, and for the amount of people, and the size of the lodge, it was very quiet and peaceful. I can't wait to come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice.we enjoyed our stay for 3 days

Posted Jun 26, 2017
It was nice but it was a little bit hot in our room.we don't know if we have ac or not..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst experience ever (RACIST)

Posted May 31, 2017
The place was beautiful but the front desk staff was just the worst so racist that unless you are white you get the best treatment . There was specially a older white lady that was the worst of all. Please please you shouldn't have people like that working at your facility. People go up there to have fun but workers like her just ruin your trip. Horrible, horrible, horrible experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chino, Ca

Wonderful location. Beautiful view.

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: The location was great. The room was excellent with a fantastic view. And all of the staff were very pleasant.
Cons: Few minor issues. Door on dishwasher was broken. 2 of the Igniters on stove didn't work. All easily worked around & front desk advised before we left
Location: perfect location on a quiet street. Close to the Village and within easy driving distance to just about everything on the lake.
We had a wonderful time at Lagonita. We spent 5 nights at Lagonita and they were fantastic. We had a 1 bedroom 1 bath bear view room. The room location was magnificent with an extraordinary view of the sunset every evening. room rate was extremely reasonable and the room itself was pleasant. A few minor issues with the handle on the dishwasher and the igniters on the stove but nothing major. We reported the issues to the front desk but weren't terribly concerned about it as they were easily worked around during our stay. The staff was very pleasant. The room was comfortable. Located very close to the Village and within easy driving distance of just about everything on the lake. I would highly recommend Lagonita to anyone looking for nice accommodations with pleasant staff in a convenient location. We will definitely be returning on our next visit.
2 out of 5
by jason

Very disappointed

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
The room was infested with ants. There were ants in the kitchen and bathroom. We did not have any food because we only stayed one night. The bathroom towels had ants all over them and on the sink. The window ledge in the bedroom was lifting and when we tried to open the window because the room stunk a bit, a bunch of flies flew out from underneath the lifting ledge. We tried to make coffee in the morning, but we had to clean the pot first because it was filthy. The coffee pot leaked all over the sink and we had no coffee. Since check out was 10am, we decided we had enough of this place and checked out. Check in time is at 5 pm, which is later than most places as check out is 10 am. The check out is much earlier than other places as well. I was very disappointed with our stay and probably would not return.
5 out of 5
by Karen

Big Bear Family getaway

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful lakeside setting. The rooms were very large and had everything you would need for a long family stay. Kitchen, living area with huge fireplace and separate bedroom and bath. it may be a time share because the maid service doesn't come everyday but we didn't need it for our short stay. There were lots of activities for children inside and outside.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Place

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was better than expected and very clean.
4 out of 5
by Virginia

Fun

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great time like the hotel I would go back
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice large rooms

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
The room was huge. A bedroom with queen bed, television, dresser, sink, nightstand. A combined kitchen, living room, dining area with television and private balcony. Room was stocked with kitchen utensils and cleaning supplies. The couch had a decent pullout bed that the kids were happy with. The only downsides would be the water was very hot, and the temperature was inconsistent,it would go to hot, scorching hot, very hot, etc. lol...hard to get it right and it constantly changed. Plus outdated decoration and furniture but the bed was comfortable and it was clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Nice waterside location, but issue with facilities

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: The location to the lake, on the side of the town and the room and living area and kitchen were great spaces (again see attached)
Cons: Fixing whatever issue is leading to "birth defects".
Location: This is on the side of the lake that has the skiing and easy access to restaurants and things to do in town.
There were signs all over the buildings about "birth defects" (see picture) that made us very uneasy and not want to stay inside very long. It was a great location right on the water front with easy parking and great room, but again, the sign just really made us not enjoy the experience.