Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old ski resort needs remodeling

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Friendly staff Expensive food Rooms need remodel Floors creak & curtains missing
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Katie, Big Sky Resort , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience, your feedback is very important to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho Falls, ID

Comfortable with squeaky floors!

Posted Sep 3, 2017
The beds were comfortable and all of the staff were accommodating and pleasant. The breakfast buffet was amazing and tasty. The hallways and room decor were dated and could use updating. When you walked down the hallways, the floor squeaked with each footstep. Inside the room, you could hear voices from other rooms coming through the vent system. However, each guest was provided with a set of ear plugs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Katie, Big Sky Resort , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mn

Friendly and fun

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Upgraded our room for free and took.good care if us. Great hotel, highly recommend!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Katie, Big Sky Resort , Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review your experience! We love our guests! Please come back to visit us again very soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Nice hotel in Big Sky with mostly great staff

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Check in was good. Didn't know there were Bellhops (cowboys) but was grateful given the setup of the hotel (only one set of elevators). Manager at checkin was nice. I had no idea lift tickets and breakfast were included in the stay so that was a welcome surprise. Breakfast was awesome! The first night was a tad rough for me and my bestie. We were peeved to find the curtains don't cover the whole width of the window and our room overlooked a light post and was also positioned for us to be blinded awake by the rising sun. In addition, some fancy cube clock in the room had an alarm set for the crack of dawn, unknown to us and we had an impossible time shutting it off. The hotel doesn't lie about the walls being paper thin. They did provide ear plugs. The rooms could use some updating and for sure the hallways. We were appalled the first morning when the hallway outside our room smelled like a bar. It was nearly a vomitous smell. That however did not persist into the night or next day. The woman running the front desk on our first morning (August 19th) was so rude that I planned to call the hotel manager. I forgot. Her attitude towards all the guests she was serving was reprehensible. The staff handled 500+ breakfast guests in the wake of the eclipse with absolute grace--kudos to them because it was a zoo. The cowboys, especially Chris and Thuan, were awesome and handled my photo and telescoping equipment for the eclipse very carefully without even being asked to do so.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Katie, Big Sky Resort , Hotel Management
Hi Amy, Thank you for taking the time to review. We will address your concerns on the front desk, and are delighted to hear of your experience with the bell staff. We cant improve without the feedback of our guests, thank you! Please come back to visit us again soon,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful view

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The hotel has a beautiful view of the mountains and the staff are friendly. Breakfast was wonderful. The room was relatively comfortable but the hotel is older and not well insulated. Every single noise from other guests upstairs or in the hall can be heard. The parking situation was less than ideal as well since there are two lots that are not paved and the best spots are all taken. Plan to unload your luggage at the front entrance before parking your car. Despite my negative comments, I would still stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Katie, Big Sky Resort , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review. Your feedback is very important to us as we strive to provide excellent guest service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The room was nice and clean. The breakfast buffet was just ok; they ran out of items and took a long time to refill.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Katie, Big Sky Resort , Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review. Your feedback is very important to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Very nice..though quite a drive up there. Very private which is what I liked!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Katie, Big Sky Resort , Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Would not stay again

Posted Aug 22, 2017
The AC unit in our room made a HORRIBLE noise all night long. Despite repeated requests, front desk staff was unable to do anything for us. I even requested a cheap pair of foam earplugs to help block the noise, and they didn't have those. Front desk seemed very unconcerned that we were unable to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Katie, Big Sky Resort , Hotel Management
Hello Naomi, Thank you for taking the time to leave insightful feedback. I have immediately addressed your concerns with our staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bend, Oregon

Great Mountain Lodge Feeling

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Breakfast Buffet, Great Cowboy/ Old West feel, Spectacular Views, Lots to do, Family Friendly.
Cons: Rooms need to be updated
Location: Hiking, Mt. Biking, Canoeing on the lake, Rock Climbing, Tram to the top of the Mountain, Shopping, River Raft Trips, Fishing...Outdoor Heaven!!!!
Loved the cowboys at the door welcoming the guests. Calling you ma'am & sir...nice touch. The front desk staff was engaging & informative. The lobby & sitting areas were fantastic especially at night when they would have a "real" fire in the very large fire places & lots of seating! It was a fun place to either interact with new faces or sit alone reading by the fire. The rooms need some renovations but were clean & comfortable. The views were spectacular! And the access to the three lift lines for each day of your stay was a great freebee!! I highly suggest you take advantage of the lifts. The shopping area was quaint & offered lots of fun activities for families and everyone both young & old! Great Old West Feel!!! The breakfast (Included also) was delicious! Everything home made from the biscuits & gravy to the fluffy "real eggs" and pancakes. Fruit was fresh along with many other selections. Buffet... served as all you can eat!! Would highly recommend this lodge for the ambiance! If you're looking for a great room...probably not your 1st choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Katie, Big Sky Resort , Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay. We hope to have you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, Va

Flatlander at Big Sky

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Very Nice hotel. Was a ling drive to Yelliwstone each day. But the drive was outstaning for a east coast guy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Katie, Big Sky Resort , Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review! Please come back to visit us again soon!