Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it. We are coming back.

Posted Nov 19, 2017
It was a great place to come with kids. There is a huge cafeteria and play room with a beautiful view. The lake view is beautiful. The food was ok but I loved that it was self service. We had a suite which was beautiful. Wifi was spotty to non existent but our overall experience was great. We will definitely be coming back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

A fun place to stay with meals and activities incl

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Great experience! Our cabin was a bit cold even with wood stove and space heater...but other than that, we loved it! 3 meals a day plus wine and cheese and snacks. Also included were activities such as smores making, games, star gazing, archery, and guided hikes. Would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2017
What a gem. This place makes your Sequoia stay soooooo easy. Awesome food and so much flexibility to help you eat well, even if you travel the Park during mid-day. Gorgeous surroundings and view from lodge. Unpretentious, old-school Sierra lodge that does it all well. Bravo. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended, Over the top experience,

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: We were over whelmed with the quality and vast assortment of meal offerings. The tender aroma of a log fire as you enter the lodge. 1st class staff!!!
Cons: Not your fault, I am always disturbed by the rudeness and ignorance of others leaving their garbage anywhere for someone else to clean up
Location: Well, your in the middle of a National Park.. the giant Sequoias where always at full attention, as real Americans are. So beautiful, yet humble.
Beautiful, all-inclusive, rustic lodge. Like going back in time to a classic mountain resort which exudes elegance and the charm of yesteryear. The Lodge includes 3 hi-quality meals/day with a pre-dinner wine/cheese gathering fit for kings! All this in the midst of one of God's great masterpieces.. Thank you for the opportunity to publish our unique and memorable experience. Dan and Nancy Little
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Only place available

Posted Oct 20, 2017
In October, this was the only place available in Sequoia. We stayed in the cabins and not the lodge. The cabin heat was a wood burning stove and was totally up to us to ignite and keep stoked with logs. My big complaint was not having paper to get it started. Patchy WiFi was available. Meals were cafeteria style but edible. Having rustic cabins and “summer camp” experience is fine, I just wasn’t in the mood for that. That’s why I would recommend Montecito to others—you just have to be prepared for “summer camp “.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Really enjoyed the Montecito

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Perhaps it was the nostalgia of summer camp as a girl but I was pleasantly surprised with the Montecito. Based on some reviews I was a little apprehensive to book here but I'm really glad we did, I would absolutely stay here again. In the two main lodge areas there is a small bar, two large fire places, comfortable seating areas and games for kids/families. All of the staff were super friendly and helpful, you can tell they love their jobs, you really feel like family here. We stayed in a lodge room not a cabin. The rooms are clean but have very modest accommodations, if you are looking for fancy this is not the place for you. We loved the location; we were visiting both Kings Canyon and Sequoia so this was the perfect in-between location. When I booked I didn't realize three meals a day were included, what a bonus and the food is surprisingly good (several guests I met that have been coming there for years said the food was not so great in the past); fresh, delicious and healthy options at every meal, better than many nice restaurants. If you are out and about during the day they will make you a sack lunch. All of the dining is family style at large tables, we met some great people and got all sorts of tips for sightseeing and hiking. In the evenings there was complimentary wine and cheese served before dinner and s'mores around the campfire after dinner. There are also some trails you can hike right from the lodge too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bartlett, nh

Beautiful location

Posted Oct 12, 2017
We were given a room that was newly renovated but they really hadn't looked it over. Something's weren't working right. The food was great, the bed was comfortable, the lacation was awesome. Very family oriented.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Oct 9, 2017
100% great stay, food buffet was good and they even served us wine and cheese. The lake is gorgeous and you can kayak for free ;-)