Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was amazing

Posted Feb 7, 2017
We had an amazing time everything was harmonious and I love the staff.
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Great Experience

Posted Feb 4, 2017 on Hotels
The experience was exquisite. The service was impeccable. There was a hefty amount of disinformation that circulated when it came to the area surrounding in regards to road closures and general state of the highway. This was simply the time of year and there were storms but we would have been unable to see any of the sites or go hiking if we hadn't ventured out on our own in contradiction to what most people were telling us, in order to see for ourselves if HWY 1 was indeed closed. The hotel was wonderful though and the trip was a success.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michelle

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
This Hotel was great! I have never stayed in a hotel where I have never wanted to leave my hotel room. From the fireplace to the view, to the service and staff and the environment surrounding this hotel I was in awe. They treated us so special. Big Sur is truly a beautiful place but Ventanas made our first trip to Big Sur magical.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Quintessential Big Sur experience

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Beautifully equipped room. Views, service all A plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
A beautiful property located in Big Sur's forest with distant views of the Pacific Ocean.
4 out of 5
by Ahmed

Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for 2 nights,,it was a great 2 night we relaxed and enjoyed the weather and the view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Big Sur Classic

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Luxury rustic. Exceptual service. We especially enjoyed the walking path through the redwoods to the restaurant overlooking the coast (although rides are provided by another route for those who might prefer them).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Peaceful and romantic with wooded charm

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: From the wooded trails, one can see the Nepenthe Restaurant and shop. Very popular. Nearby is the Deetchen's Big Sur Inn - nice restaurant.
This is an adults only hotel with appointments to match. Two swimming pools - one for clothing optional. Two Japanese baths - one for clothing optional. In our room there were frosted French doors that could be opened to reveal the tub (very deep); this also allowed natural light into the bathroom. Toilet was in a separate room. The site includes a fitness room and a library. Every afternoon there is a wine and cheese table - no charge. The restaurant patio has an almost 180 degree view of the ocean. All the buildings are set within, or adjacent, to wooded areas that include large redwood trees. There are many activities on site; we enjoyed the morning Yoga class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Fantastic hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2016
This was a real treat for my husband and I. We absolutely loved it here. The atmosphere was uber relaxed. The place itself is magical, between the woods, ocean and sky. We enjoyed the hike, lunch and breakfast at the restaurant (jaw dropping views), the evening wine and cheese happy hour, the stunning scenery, the beautiful room, daily morning yoga class and the lovely staff. We will be back... magical! Thank you!