Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Randalstown, Northern Ireland

Old world Charm

Posted Apr 4, 2018
An olde world charm hotel which has been tastefully modernised bathroom wise whilst retaining that olde world feel. Excellent, attentive staff and a great breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good do beter

Posted Jan 13, 2018 on Hotels
Had booked a large double but was given a small double next to a function room with a function planned that evening although there was plenty of empty rooms in newer part of hotel away from function room including the room that was originally booked. Bad planning and little consideration given to customer at time of collecting key at reception.
2 out of 5
by John H

Anywhere but the Elphinstone, Biggar

Posted Jan 2, 2018 on Hotels
The bed had a matress on that was wider than the bed, so when you got out you were ejected onto the floor. The room was very very cold when we arrived, just putting heat on low would have sensible. The general hotel carpets etc was very tired. I paid £89 it should have been £59 at the most. I laughed, everywhere I have stayed from Lagos to Porto Rico to Sweden to Russia to S Africa to France to Italy plus hundreds of hotels in the UK, I have always been asked 'was everythingf OK' but not here, I think they new the answer. It is a shame because Biggar is a up market town & for that price it should have been top hole.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland and England

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: The friendly, cheerful, willing, patient staff. Our room was excellent, the bed linen fit for Royalty...............no exageration
A warm welcome from the friendly staff made us feel comfortable, relaxed and delighted that we had booked for the night. We plan to make a return visit in the Summer.
4 out of 5
by Maureen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bolton

very convenient to Biggar centre and not too far

Posted Nov 27, 2017
We arrived on a cold frosty evening and the hotel was lovely and warm The staff were very welcoming
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayrshire

Posted Nov 26, 2017
This hotel stay was booked for a Birthday treat for my Wife. We were greeted warmly in the lounge bar on what was a very cold afternoon and checked in without any fuss. The room was very clean although a little on the small side but more than adequate for our short stay. Dinner in the hotel was excellent. Service was also excellent despite it being very busy. In the Morning breakfast was very good as well. All in all we would certainly return!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blantyre

Welcoming and very friendly

Posted Nov 26, 2017 on Ebookers
Nice and central. Difficult to park near it but that's probably no different from any of the other hotels in the town. Staff were great; very friendly, helpful and hard-working.
3 out of 5
by Kenny

Posted Nov 12, 2017 on Hotels
Booked in for family party, room ok , a tad expensive for what we got . But not much choice in this area ... no complaints..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

.

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Fairly basic for the price. Food is terrible. No local beer.