Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An overnight stopover close to The Mill Restaurant

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The accessibility from the main route (702) from Edinburgh to Carlisle, the price, cleanliness and staff
Location: Walks, local history is interesting, lovely countryside
The breakfast was superb, parking was on the street but being the weekend it was a relief to see there were no restrictions (free). The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only downside was that my room had no windows (though the was a dull / opaque) skylight which made it hard to envisage / be prepared for what the day was like outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Bang in the centre of Biggar, and the Borders.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Family run, clean, great breakfast, pleasant attentive staff, good ales, live music on certain evenings. Easy online booking.
Cons: Nothng much
Location: Not far over the Scottish border, great base to explore lots of interesting places, inc Glasgow, Edinburgh. Or use as a stop off to the highlands.
This is my second visit to the Elphinstone, this time my brother and nephew also stopped for three nights, they enjoyed and will recommend too now.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Easily accessible in the town centre.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: general feeling that nothing was any trouble, nice and friendly staff.
Cons: the use of a shower mat in the room would have been helpful.
Location: Right in the centre of town, within easy access of the local places of interest. The new Museum is particularly worth a visit.
Cosy atmosphere. Clean and tidy, nice dinner menu and plenty of choice. Nothing was too much trouble.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Highlands

Posted Mar 25, 2017
The room was very clean, the staff friendly and the food good. The room was smaller than expected.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Comfy bed. No wifi.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
I booked a room last minute as I needed a place to stopover on a journey and this was a perfect location for that. Biggar itself is a lovely wee town. The hotel is a traditional inn and has a lovely exterior. Inside, the small dining area/bar was cosy and the staff welcoming. I was given directions to my room. My first impression of the room was it was quite shabby and in need of updating and decorating. However, the facilities were fine and the bed extremely comfortable which is most important. I had a drink in the main bar which was nice. The hotel had no wifi and, as mobile reception was virtually non existent, I feel this is a big omission. My biggest criticism however, is the cost. I have stayed in similar places for half the price and they were in a better state of decoration and had free wifi. Overall, a good nights sleep but a pricey one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shetland

Comfortable hotel in a great situation

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Location: Ideal location central to Biggar
Very comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. meals all very good. Will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moray

Nice hotel in the centre of town

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: The food was excellent.
Cons: Some showers were a bit dodgy with air locks
Location: Ideal place to stay for us as we had a wedding in nearby Cornhill Castle.
A quaint hotel with lots of quirky rooms. The hotel was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
We were in the area for a family gathering. The staff at the hotel were very helpful & friendly. The breakfast was ten out of ten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Pleasant place to stop and break a long trip home

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Location: just passing through needing overnight accommodation
Much bigger than it appears. Charming and helpful staff and very pleasant evening meal.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels