Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Oct 30, 2017
The hotel and breakfast where ok and the staff where great. It was the price that I paid for such a basic room which let it down. I think the price was maybe hiked up as my stay was during the Biggar Little festival. If this is the case it is even more disappointing that the hotel would take advantage. If it was £20 cheaper I would have gave it a better rating as my expectations wouldn’t have been as high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

lovely stay

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Very pleasant hotel with extremely helpful and friendly staff. Would recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nantwich

Edinburgh & Scotland 2017

Posted Aug 30, 2017
I chose the hotel via TripAdvisor & Expedia as it seemed to fit our needs. Small & friendly with good reviews for service & food. With good access to Edinburgh the following day. We weren't disappointed, friendly welcome & small but very comfortable room with all the usual accessories. Good food for dinner & a great "Scottish" breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly hotel in Biggar with good food

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Stayed here for one night with my family. Very friendly place, good food, nice breakfast, clean and right in the middle of Biggar. Beds are a little on the firm side but otherwise can't fault the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Friendly, homely hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Central location and homely atmosphere
Cons: Nothing
Location: All shops are easy walking distance and the surrounding countryside is beautiful
We enjoyed a family stay here on the High Street. No problem parking outside overnight. The dinner, lunch and breakfasts were generous in quantity and nicely cooked. Our rooms were quite compact but had all facilities needed and the bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by BRENDAN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Linda

What a lovely find

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
What a friendly happy place this is. Not one member of staff was miserable. The food was amazing with lots of choice. Free wifi all over the hotel and no need for a password. Nothing was too much trouble and everything done with a smile. We stayed for 2 nights as we were at a family wedding, they sorted a taxi for us and Sunday lunchtime when we just wanted a snack we were sorted out 'off menu'. Would come here again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Scotland

overnight stay

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Clean tidy and staff were friendly
Location: Only was there for one night.
I arrived having cycled from home to the hotel, staff were friendly. They had a secure place where I could store my bike overnight. Everything was explained and I was given directions to my room. Although I was only there for one night I really enjoyed my stay and I would use this hotel again. They can store a couple of bikes but I don't think there would be room for any more. Although I think it would be worth checking with hotel.
4 out of 5
by Linda

Call in, break your journey!

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
The room was a bit cramped, but it's an old hotel, so that can be expected. Great staff, and a lovely pub. We enjoyed our dinner there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An overnight stopover close to The Mill Restaurant

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The accessibility from the main route (702) from Edinburgh to Carlisle, the price, cleanliness and staff
Location: Walks, local history is interesting, lovely countryside
The breakfast was superb, parking was on the street but being the weekend it was a relief to see there were no restrictions (free). The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only downside was that my room had no windows (though the was a dull / opaque) skylight which made it hard to envisage / be prepared for what the day was like outside.