Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nicest hotel we have stay at in Spain

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: everything
A must to stay on a upper floor beautiful view of the bay. Walk around the town. If we could we would have stay here at least two three days. Close enough to Bilboa to taxi if you want to visit that town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Gerente, Hotel Management
Good morning, Thank you for your review, we are glad for your words, we hope to see you soon in URH Palacio de Oriol. Best regards,
3 out of 5
by Ralph

A curates egg!

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is a little weird with bedrooms only accessible by using a combination of stairs and lifts. The room was extremely noisy, with little soundproofing to give a quiet night which was made worse with a funfair operating only a few hundred yards away! The noise couldn't all be blamed on the fair as the railway line was even nearer! Access to Bilbao centre was easy with a short walk to that station, and also a metro at about the same distance. The local people we came in contact with couldn't have been more helpful, which was just as well when trying to find our way our way out of town to the airport. GPS lied and trying to follow road signs just led us through back streets and dead ends! Eventually a very friendly council worker guided us all the way to the Auto-via almost as far as the airport - about 6KM! Not at all impressed with local town but Bilbao was brilliant.
4 out of 5
by Barry Joseph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by IAN

great place to stay

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Over night stay was fab, pity about the bar running out of beer though, had to go to another bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017
Good afternoon Mr Ian, Thank you for your review and sorry for the inconveniences. Our bar / terrace service offer you barrel of beer if it is available, if not we always have bottle beer untill 23:30h. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Happy Days

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Everything about hotel was very good, food very good, as a glueten intolerant person well looked after by the staff.
Location: Guggenheim, city facilities, walks on the promenade all so accessible underground system for travel
Arrived latest after longish drive not the easiest place to locate, offered room upgrade great room balcony and view of harbour room excellent very comfortable. Very close to underground system easy access into city cheap too !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham UK

Perfectly fine. Once we could find it!

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: See above. Lovely environment and excellent fish restaurant down on the quay.
Clean and good value. Parking 15 euros extra but nowhere else to park so worth it. Very, very difficult to find. Do not rely on satnav!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing.

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is good, I suppose, if you get a room on one of the upper levels. Our room was on minus one level and it was awful. It stank of cigarettes and had mold on the curtains in the room. Very disappointing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Just want to mention the outstanding customer service of all the staff at this Hotel. We had some hiccups with our booking (our fault) and the receptionist solved all issues and which enabled us to relax and get on with our short vacation.
4 out of 5
by Geoffrey from Sheffield

Good for the money

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was rated as a four star, we have stayed in three star hotels just as good. However, the room we stayed in was nice with a double bed and small fridge the bathroom was spacious and our room was overlooking the river, and the railway station. We did not find the trains disturbing but you could hear them. When we were there there was a funfair across from our room which was very loud and went on till the early hours.The double glazing dulled the noise enough for us to sleep but having the window open was a no no. The funfair is not a permanent feature and it was unfortunate it was there whilst we were. However it is there for the festivals, and there are a lot of festivals. So check beforehand. The breakfast was nice and worth the money and the Menu del dia we had was good for 15 Euros . The price goes up at the weekend. Overall, just about worth the money and we would stay there again.