Ratings based on 1,062 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Lovely location.

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Great location across the street from the Guggenheim. Our room faced the museum. Staff very accommodating. We came in from San Sebastian by bus in the rain and after trying for 20 minutes to get a cab to the hotel, called the hotel and they sent a cab pronto. Good suggestions for sightseeing when we checked in. Lovely 15 minute walk to the old town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel to visit the city

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Great hotelwith excellent breakfast great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Hotel bar and other facilities are great - as well as the fantastic view
Cons: Room quality and sound proofing
Great location for the Guggenheim, city centre and less than 20 mins walk to the old town. I wouldn't call this a true 5* hotel though - rooms were nice but without that added luxuries more like a 4* (and not very good sound proofing!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel for the Guggenheim Museum

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Excellent welcome. The breakfast on the terrace was superb! No complaints at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Guest Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for take time writing such a great review about Gran Hotel Domine. It is a pleasure for all of us knowing that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Looking forward seing you again if you decide to visit again our city. Best Regards! Estitxu Etxebarria, Guest Assistant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Luxury hotel next to the Guggenheim

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Location, great choice at breakfast and helpful professional staff.The airport bus stops just round the corner so very easy to get to it.
Location: Opposite Guggenheim and near the modern art museum too. Lots of great restaurants in easy reach of hotel.
Amazing location and breakfast is served in wonderful rooftop restaurant with a terrace overlooking Guggenheim. The bedroom was spacious and scrupulously clean and had a very comfortable bed and quiet air- conditioning. I paid extra for a room with Guggenheim view and was pleased I had. Staff were all very professional and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Guest Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Isobel, Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review about Gran Hotel Domine. It is a pleasure read you polite words about our staff, it is our aim to pamper our guest to make them feel at home. We are glad to know that our location was convenient for your visit in Bilbao and that you enjoyed our breakfast at the terrace with the amaizing views to the Guggenheim Museum. We hope welcoming you again if you decide to return to our city. Kindest regard for the Domine Family! Estixu Etxebarria, Guest Assistant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Rooms are ok but a bit noisy. There in house renovation so was bad timing
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Guest Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you so much for trusting Gran Hotel Domine during your visit to Bilbao. We sincerely apologize for the disturbance. It is true that we are in a restyling process but it should not interrupt the rest of our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in future times if you decide to come back to Bilbao. Yours Faithfully, Estitxu Etxebarria, Guest Assistant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Nice hotel in front of the Guggenheim & the Puppy

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Great City to visit. Its museums, streets, casco viejo, food, everithing amazing. The hotel lobby was in renovation but great atention of the staff. The only thing "negative" was that no valuable vip benefit was offered. Everithing else outstanding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Guest Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Fernando: Thank you for choosing our Gran Hotel Domine and for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are glad to know your compliments about our staff, our aim is to make you feel at home and pamper you during your stay. We look forward to have the pleasure of welcome you again if you decide to come back to Bilbao. Best Regards, Estitxu Etxebarria, Guest Assistant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location and well appointed room

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: good location, comfy room, very clean
Cons: difficult to say as work going on downstairs, breakfast expensive, would have been nice to have drink on terrace during the day
helpful and friendly staff, however room a bit dark as facing into interior atrium space
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Guest Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on your stay in Gran Hotel Domine. We are thrilled of hearing your polite words about our staff. We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast but we regret you found it too expensive. Indeed our prices include a huge variety and quality of products and the upkeep of our fabulous views to the Guggenheim Museum. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Yours Faithfully, Estitxu Etxebarria, Guest Assistant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from York, England

Bilbao - a vibrant city with lots to do

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Location, room comfort, breakfast, staff and wine in the bar. The bar staff were excellent, 4e per glass and good quality.
Cons: Television - opportunity to use netflix.
Location: See above
Great location with fantastic views over the Guggenheim Museum and the river. This part of the city has been developed in a very modern way with a lovely path along the river that goes on for miles. You can walk along the river to the Old Town. The Guggenheim was brilliant, we really enjoyed the abstract expressionism exhibition and all the well thought out architecture of the building. The flower puppy outside and the 'maman' spider we loved. The Belles Artes Museum is also very close by and again a fabulous experience. We also went to Gernika, the transporter bridge then over to Getxo (very nice seaside resort) and a whole day in beautiful San Sebastián.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Guest Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Sarah: First of all thank you for chosing Gran Domine Hotel as your acommodation during your visit in Bilbao. It is a pleasure for us knowing that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our great location in front of the museum. Without doubts having breakfast in our terrace with the amazing views it is the best way to start a day with energy. On the other hand, we apologize for the inconvenients with the tv. We are in a recovey process of all of our rooms and we are incorporating a system for conecting your laptop to the tv, so if you decide to come back again you will have the opportunity to use netflix. Best Regards, Estitxu Etxebarria, Guest Assistant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Near the City Centre, nice and elegant hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Atmosphere and design of hotel.
Cons: Cost of breakfast, felt like we were paying more for the view! Plus hotel was going through renovation, was a little nuisance.
Location: Museum and city centre close by.
Nice proximity to the centre and great views! A reasonable size, has a gym and good service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Guest Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Shabz: Thank you in advance for accomodating with us during your visit in Bilbao. We are glad for hearing that you have enjoyed our priviledged location in front of the Guggenheim Museum. On the other hand, we appologize for the inconvenients you mention. Our breakfast is composed by a variety of very high quality products so the price is according the items that we offer, not only the fantastic views that our terrace offers. We appologize again for the nuisance that the works caused you, we are in a recovery process that will impress you if you decide to return to our hotel. Yours Faithfully, Estitxu Etxebarria, Guest Assistant.