Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Perth

One night in Bilbao

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Location and foyer were the best parts of this hotel
Cons: The key rings were very cute and fit with the hotel but HUGE for carrying around in a small handbag
Location: Walking distance to the Bilbao Guggenheim and Old Town
We only stayed in Bilbao for one night, but it was a lovely one. This hotel was older, but still delightful. Lovely chandelier in the foyer, with marble and wood. The room was spacious enough, clean and bright. Coffee machine in the room, and clean bathroom. Staff at check-in were friendly and spoke very good English which was helpful as my brain kept trying to bring in high school German, rather than the Spanish phrases I'd learnt for the trip!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location is good, not a 5 star not even a 3 star.

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: location and quietness
Cons: lots, beds, pillows and linen
Location: walking distance to Guggenheim and old town
When first built I'm sure it was a 5 star, but not now, worn rugs (stairs & hallways) they have done some updates to rooms (flat screen tv, tables, rug) but worse thing was the bed, old uncomfortable, travelling for a month (Spain & France) it gets the worse bed award on our trip. Judging by the covering on mattress and box spring must have been from the 80's!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hemel hempstead UK

More a 2 star than a 5 star

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: The hotel is near many bars and restaurants,
Cons: decoration.
Location: centrally located,
Positive side is that the price was good and is centrally located , On the other hand the hotel needs a good refurbishment, the wallpaper looks tired, carpet on the stairs needs changing, lifts definitely not of a 5 star, room a bit small, I chose this hotel through the mystery hotel selection in expedia, and I am sure the hotel asked expedia to promote their rooms , from now on I have learnt my lesson and never go for this option again, as if you wish for a 5 star, you expect a 5 star, not a 5 star that was 10 years ago,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Great location for seeing main sites.

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: Great location. Well presented with friendly, helpful staff. Very quiet. Metro stations and tram stops are nearby.
Cons: Nothing obvious.
Location: Within easy reach of the city centre and main attractions. A few bars and restaurants along the road and also near to a busy bar area.
Bilbao is a beautiful city set below the surrounding rolling hills, where very modern buildings blend in perfectly with old and traditional architecture. The streets are very clean and everything appears to be well maintained. The hotel was a short walk from city centre where the airport bus stops and provided quality accommodation with friendly, helpful staff. The location was perfect for visiting the main sites in the city and was close to transport links. It is also a few minutes walk from Ledesma St, a busy area for bars and restaurants. Overall, a pleasant and interesting stay in a city which is ready to become a major tourist destination.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not really 5*

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Well located for exploring the city. Rooms were a reasonable size and decorated. The helpful staff.
Cons: Need to sort out air-conditioning in the bedrooms! Free WiFi is patchy - would expect better. Hence our rating that we would not recommend to a friend
Location: Guggenheim, great restaurants and tapas, old city, near to river, Bilbao Athletic football stadium, near to good shopping.
We were disappointed with this hotel because although rated as 5* the rooms (superior) did not have air-conditioning that worked. Given the temperature outside during our stay was in the high 30s the rooms were very uncomfortable to be in. Our son was moved to another room that air-conditioning was working better in but no other rooms were available. The downstairs reception areas did have proper air-conditioning. We were provided with a fan to try and alleviate the problem but this was noisy at night and opening a window also meant a noisy night. The staff, however, were excellent and the concierge went out of his way to provide maps of cycle routes for my husband. The breakfast was expensive and did not look value for money and the bar lacked atmosphere. There was secure parking but this was quite expensive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Great location, with poor Air Conditioning

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: The location was top notch
Cons: Air Conditioning was deficient. It did not work at all and I woke up sweating
Location: Guggenheim Museum is a must, other great locations are within walking distance as well if you don't mind strolling a few blocks
Furniture was in a state of disrepair, but mostly clean. Staff was friendly and the location was great. Within walking distance of Guggenheim Museum and other central locations in Bilbao.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from nz

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Great location,
excellent hotel,great room, great service, staff made us feel very welcome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Room needed attention

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Air con was broken in room and window hard to open in 30c heat and several things needed attention. We were moved to another room. Continental breakfast was a glass of Orange, a cup of coffee and a pastry, brought on a tray.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colchester

Excellent hotel .great position .

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: It's position .cleansiness and helpful staff
Cons: It's all good
Location: Very central. Old town .guggenhiem . Bars . Pinxcos. Great area just of the calle estarolla very social.
Great area to be in .situated really well in central Bilbao . Easy walking distance from the fantastic old town .and the Guggenheim.there is also a tram stop 3mins away. Great hotel . Fantastic City amazing people lee will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

Great hotel conveniently located

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Staff, amenities.
Cons: none to think of
Location: Guggenheim Meseum, old town.
Hotel staff are super friendly and super helpful. You could definitely feel welcomed here. The location of the hotel is great too, within walking distance of almost every major attraction.