Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally located

Posted Dec 27, 2016
The hotel is in a good location with easy accessibility to most attractions and transit. The hotel rooms are located downstairs below the ground floor, therefore there is no chance of a view. Was annoyed when cleaning staff just entered room with knocking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything!

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Excellent hotel close to best eating and shopping and sight-seeing. Bilbao is a walking town, so can get anywhere in 30 minutes tops. Close to Guggenheim and Fine Are Museum. Only drawback is it is on street above discos, which can be noisy from Thursday through Saturday nights, but were quiet on our stay. Nice bar on main floor. Excellent extensive breakfast, worth the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

Great hotel, ideal for weekend break

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: The staff were really friendly and helpful. The parking garage is a little difficult to find but they gave us a map and clear directions.
Location: I would advise visiting the Guggenheim (book ahead, huge queues!) there are also some fabulous bars and restaurants within easy walking distance.
We stayed at the hotel as a first stop off on a tour of Northern Spain after getting off the ferry in Bilbao. The hotel was in a quiet location but within easy walking distance of The Guggenheim and also some fab restaurants. The bed was comfortable and the room spotlessly clean. The bar looked inviting but as we were only there for one night we didn't get a chance to experience it as we were eager to get out and see a little of Bilbao.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Excellent - highly recommended

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Newish hotel located in the heart of Bilbao, within walking distance of the Guggenheim Museum and other attractions. Clean, tidy and very well presented. Quiet, comfortable room. Public car park located within walking distance if you're driving, with short term parking in front of the hotel to allow easy check-in. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located hotel.

Posted May 13, 2016
Great hotel in a great location with very helpful staff. I was on a long weekend break but would recommend this hotel to all travelers, families, business, solo or groups.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chile

Nice Hotek

Posted Mar 13, 2016
We enjoy this Hotel. But we didn't like that we have to pay extra to go to the pool and hot tub. So we didn't enjoy the pool. The rest: breakfast and room was perfect. The location great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unable to stay there - see below

Posted Mar 9, 2016
I was very disappointed to find that I was unable to stay at the Mercure. I had selected the option of a dog friendly hotel on the Trivago website, but arrived at the hotel at 22h00 after a 10 hour drive to find that they do not accept dogs after all! We then had to find another hotel in Bilbao that did accept dogs, at some considerable cost! The hotel receptionist was most helpful in assisting us to find another hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester UK

Nice hotel, close to the centre of city

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Good location, nice ambience, quiet.
Location: The hotel is in the city, and the railway station, funicular railway, old city etc. are all within walking distance.
Very good. The hotel was in the process of refurbishment, but disruption was minimal to me. Handy for city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Overall a good hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Cons: Better sound insulation
The only downside was our room was on the street facing a few bars and was noisy until 6:00am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel in city centre

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Location, room, sofa. (I didn't use the bar etc.)
Cons: Comfort of desk chair was ok for short periods, but trying when used all day. Adequate for most visits.
Location: It is close to the old city, Guggenheim Museum, bars and restaurants etc.
Stayed three nights for business. Perfectly fine.