Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: It's clean and beautiful.
Great hotel. Accessible to points of interest by bus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Beatriz Martínez - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear customer, thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Bilbao! We are extremely glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. We want to thank you also for your positive review and for your comments about our location and cleaning. It would be a pleasure welcoming you back soon in the future. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

Nice modern hotel short walk from the old town

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Very comfortable room with good beds and facilities. Our 7th floor room had a good view looking back to the hills away from the city. Nothing was too much for the staff who were friendly abd helpful at all times and the food in the restaurant was a decent standard on the one occasion we used it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Beatriz Martínez - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear Byll, thank you for your review! We are thrilled to know that you have enjoyed your recent experience in Bilbao. We would also like to thank you for your comments regarding our team. They make an effort to satisfy our guests and they work day by day to achieve it. It's fantastic to know that you enjoyed our restaurant, where our chefs cook delicious dishes based on traditional gastronomy. We thank you also for highlighting the wonderful green views that our customers can see from our rooms. It would be a real pleasure to have another oportunity to welcome you again to Bilbao. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Izmir - Turkey

nice hotel with river & forest view

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Bathroom and car park
Cons: sound isolation of room walls
I stayed only two nights.Everything was good. Room was clean and tidy. Berakfast was very good. But there is one thing i have tosay that room wall's noise isolation is not sufficient. It is easy to hear the next rooms conversations and TV sound. Thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by Beatriz Martínez - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crofton, MD

Superior Hotel in a Convenient Location

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: I like the cleanliness and comfort of the room and bathroom as well as the variety of food available for breakfast and in the restaurant.
Cons: There could be more vegetarian and vegan options for food--i.e., soy milk, tofu, etc.
Location: The world famous Guggenheim Museum is nearby.
This comfortable hotel is not far from the airport, and it is within walking distance of the town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by Beatriz Martínez - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear Dawn, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal, canada

Wonderful breakfast!

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Comfortable hotel well located only a 10-15 min walk from the old town, and 5 min to the tram to the guggenheim Breakfast buffet is wonderful, fresh squeezed orange juice, omelets made to order, home made yogurt and croissants and anything else you could imagine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Beatriz Martínez - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear Ursula, first of all, thank you very much for choosing Gran Bilbao Hotel during your stay in our city, and also for sharing your nice review with us and other travellers. It's fantastic to know that our facilities met your expectations, thank you very much for sharing your satisfaction about the breakfast and location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the next future. Kindest regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Hotel Close to city center

Posted Sep 21, 2017
The hotel is situated not too far from the city center and the view in front of the hotel is amazing. Over looks the river and mountain! The room was very spacious and clean. King size bed with a dual sink bathroom for his/her. Overall not a complaint at all. Room service was quick as well and the food was delicious. Def will stay back when I go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A top flight hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2017
The only concern would be that there are no restaurants near the hotel, but they do have frequent complimentary shuttle service to downtown.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Great Hotel with good access to the Old Town

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
A hotel we would highly recommend. Good welcome on checking in and details about the area provided. Room clean and tidy and a good size. The breakfast selection is the best we have ever had when staying in an hotel in this area of Spain. Bilbao is a very interesting city with plenty to see and do during the fiestas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by GuestExperience, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, thank you very much for choosing our hotel and also for taking time to share your review. We work to provide our guests the best service. Thank you for your kind words about our spacious rooms and breakfast buffet. It's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your visits to Bilbao, he hope our location provide you an extra quiet being very close to the center. We look forward to welcoming you back in the next future. Kind regards, Beatriz Martínez - Guest Experience
5 out of 5
by Stephen

An excellent choice in Bilbao

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Clean, quiet, comfortable, large room, friendly and efficient staff. Nothing more required. Didn't have breakfast as considered it far too expensive. Easy walk to the tourist attractions or could take a bus. Would definitely return without hesitation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by GuestExperience, Hotel Management
Dear Stephen, Thank you for your excellent review! It is always a pleasure to get first-hand knowledge of how much did you enjoy your stay. Thank you for the kind words about our staff, who try to provide to our guests unforgettable moments, and for your positive comment about our rooms and location, we are glad to know that we have met your expectations. The entire staff will be pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you soon at Gran Bilbao Hotel. Yours sincerely, Beatriz Martínez - Guest Experience
4 out of 5
by James

Very comfortable, modern, and clean!

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms are lovely and comfortable. We had some issues with our rooms, internet, A/C, and had to change rooms 3 times. The front desk folks were nice, and it all worked out. The breakfast was amazing! Although the hotel is not close to the center of town, there is a shuttle that makes scheduled trips into town. The area around the hotel is quiet but pretty.