Ratings based on 706 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia mo

Across the street from the gulf!

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Very friendly lobby staff. On the 3rd day we asked maid service to clean the room. They emptied the trash but didn't change the sheets. We didn't find out till we crawled into sandy sheets. Kept having to ask for extra towels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Starting to go downhill

Posted Apr 2, 2017
I have stayed at this hotel many of times...however, this hotel is not what it used to be! It is really starting to go down downhill. We had to make sure to pull the room door closed every time we left or came back, because it didn't latch like it should have. When we went to our room after checking in the door was standing open. The ice machine didn't work and flooded the hall, the lobby was in need of cleaning, the room had an odor from the last guest, and the outside of the hotel was dirty. The outside of the hotel is in need of a good power wash!! My husband and I own a auto and home detail company, so we look at all aspects of cleanliness...even the small details. I just wanted to start power washing the outside...it was driving me nuts!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha

we got lucky

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The view of the ocean was awesome. It was quiet in the evenings. The staff was great. They gave me a bit of history about the neighborhood.
Cons: A sign for check in at the door outside the lobby. It was rather confusing, the lobby is on the second floor, the parking garage is the entry.
Location: The beach is great and just across the street. Nothing else to do except gamble nearby.
We had a change in travel plans and started looking the night prior to our arrival. We were looking for a hotel on the beach somewhere near the gulf. We grabbed this one for a good price. The weather was cold but we could walk on the beach and set by the pool.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SLIDELL LA

Wingate..Not winning!!!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The housekeeper named Chris was very kind.
Cons: Closeness to beach
Location: beach casino food
Walked in and had to wait for the check in clerk to come to the front desk, she was very rude. Got up to 3rd floor and not only was our room at the end of the hall but the carpet we walked down was filthy and needed vacuumed and cleaned. Carpet stains everywhere. Breakfast was extremely stale. Elevators very slow. Limited parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Central to everything.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
The hotel and staff were very accommodating. The breakfast was very good with many choices: waffles, eggs,bacon,biscuits and gravy. I recommend getting the suite as it looks out over the beach. The rooms are large with whirlpool bath and showers. The pull out sofa is in need of a new mattress, but there are two televisions in the suite. We would come back here, and would recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Liked that the hotel was close to beach & away from casinos. The room & particularly the bathroom could have been cleaner. Hair was on the shower wall & grout around tub & on walks was moldy. Bed was comfortable & liked having room at end of hall. Room needed a clock.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hattiesburg, ms

Nice stay. Close to the beach.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Very comfortable and close to activities in Gulfport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Picture of hotel are a little bit deceptive.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
The online pictures are a little bit deceptive. The hotel is not located on the beach; there is a highway that runs between the hotel and the beach. The internet was down during our stay which created some unforeseen problems as I was on a working vacation. The rooms were clean and the one staff person I had contact with was friendly and tried to be helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2017
stayed several nights no towels in room, beds not made, house keeping was terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful. However, our bathroom had a dirty towel that was left in it from the previous guests, and the comode had a slow leak around the base of the toilet bowl. Kinda grossed me out. I would however stay there again. Beds are comfy, room was clean and cool, and the staff was great.