Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Perfect Downtown Binghamton Location!

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Staff were very accommodating and, when I requested a room change, they quickly complied.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was expecting more.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
While the room was overall OK & fine (except for the very noisy A/C unit). Additionally, there were broken or missing tiles in the bathroom floor near tub, along with holes in places were towel racks were obviously ripped off the wall (and were never replaced) The 'free breakfast" didn't consist of many options - there was a waffle maker so that was good, but the rest was disappointing with watered down OJ and bad coffee. All of it was all packed into a small corner. The most disappointing part is that with some investment and remodeling that could be a great destination hotel, right in the middle of downtown. For example, walked around and found the old front entrance that has a great stone staircase inside a large foyer that is unused and partially torn up. So much potential
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jersey

Cheapest I Found.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: It is located in the heart of Binghamton. And, the place was inexpensive, employees friendly.
Cons: Extensive air conditioning renovations, a general freshening of the entire place.
Location: Held July Fest in downtown Binghamton while I was there. Very entertaining, only 1/2 block from the hotel.
The photo you see in the ad is the BACK of the place. The entrance is quite different. Due to air conditioning issues (my 2nd room...air conditioner compressor was not working in the first one), my room was quite warm. Basically, everything listed was in the room, but the place is worn. I had hot water the whole time I was there. I can say the same condition was evident for the rest of the hotel, including the lobby...quite worn, something from another age. Upgrading, maintenance is needed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel and not upkept

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: The layout of the suite was nice.
Cons: More coffee in the room. Decaf
Location: Great location. Everything in walking distance.
The tiles were cracked in the bathroom. Hair all over the place in the bathroom. Newspaper crumpled up in the planter. Just not taken care of.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Found another hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Graffiti all over the building. The building Was old and run down. I walked into the lobby and decided I couldn't stay here. I found a better hotel down the interstate a couple miles west of here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffali, NY

Great location.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Great location. Awesome staff. Cute room. Close to lots of local things to do.Only complaint I have is that the ac unit didn't cool the room enough, at least we weren't sweating. I would stay here again. Great hotel for the price.
4 out of 5
by Cindy

Best place to stay

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is my favorite hotel to stay at in Binghamton!!! Very special, beautiful & unique!! I've stayed at the nearby holiday inn before and liked The Grand Royale way better!!! Over the last 3 years I've visited, it's only gotten better each time. Rooms are very clean. Location is the best. A beautiful hotel with friendly service. Will always stay there when in Binghamton.
4 out of 5
by Joel

Can't go wrong here for a stay in Binghamton.

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
Good location in the center of Binghamton. Easy walking distance to bus station. Restaurants are nearby as well. Room is well-kept with respectable housekeeping. The only issue is there are bars right nearby and across the street from the hotel. Nights can be noisy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2017
The hotel itself wasn't terrible. However the room was dirty, the bathroom floor had hair all over it. Theit were stains on the walls next to the bed and in the bathroom and the towels looked like they hadn't been cleaned.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced Dump

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
The best overpriced dump I've ever stayed at!