Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2017
The hotel itself wasn't terrible. However the room was dirty, the bathroom floor had hair all over it. Theit were stains on the walls next to the bed and in the bathroom and the towels looked like they hadn't been cleaned.
3 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Poor room/attitude

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Room had garbage in it from previous occupants. Damage from previous occupants. Room was not cleaned by staff properly. Pubs were in the jacuzzi. Absolutely disgraceful and disgusting. When I brought this up to by management, Mr. Khan did not care. Jus said come again and we will give me certain percentage off. I asked for a partial refund and now he has ignored me. Pursuing civil actions against him.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Parade day hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
If you want a hotel close to the bars that's good enough to slump your drunken body for a few hour in between drinks, this is the place for you. Otherwise, probably not the best. Hotel room reservation for 2 beds turned into 1 bed. We got lucky and they had 1 room available with 2 beds so we got switched, but I'm guessing someone else who wanted 2 beds got boned. Also, kinda dirty, had a hole it the ceiling of the bathroom, and the elevator broke.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient area downtown. No options for breakfast, small rooms
1 out of 5
by mary j

So disappointing.

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
Not as described. No restaurant, no bar. Breakfast was in lobby with 1 cereal, a waffle but no butter and juice that was watery. It didn't start until 8:30. So annoying. Area was dirty and no tables nearby to eat. Heat in 1st room didn't work and we had to be moved. 2nd room was area that had a lot of traffic noise. Hair dryer didn't work nor did the Keurig coffee maker. 2nd room was missing the clock. Room was clean, but linens weren't impressive. Hallways needed vacuuming. When asked to repair items not working was told they had been only to find out not so. Finally got a new hair dryer but the coffee maker never did work. It was an older hotel with high ceilings and looked so charming on internet. But, wallpaper was peeling off at top of ceiling in our room. Needs help. Parent company needs to step in.
3 out of 5
by Susan

Diamond in the rough

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here for the close proximity to the arena where we attended two hockey games. The location was perfect for that reason but the downtown area needs a lot of sprucing up. Not very appealing to visitors. Our room at the hotel was comfortable and clean but the hotel itself really needs some work. It's such a beautiful old building... a diamond in the rough, and with a little work could actually be "grande".
3 out of 5
by Maryalice

Grand Royale is not grand at all....needs a lot he

Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
Uncomfortable bed and pillows, water stains on ceiling, only three channels on tv. Desk clerk who said he was the owners son said I was in one of the renovated rooms - I would so that was not correct. From front desk to elevator is tricky as they have a sitting area with a large area rug and someone not careful could certainly trip on it as well as anyone with a large piece of luggage would find it tricky to get around it. Not good experience.
5 out of 5
by Alfred

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
On a SUNY College tour with my son- this was a convenient & reasonable stay while in Binghamton
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cool room just not clean

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
We got a jacuzzi tub room. Got to the room and everything seemed alright. After a closer look it looked like one of the towels had been used. The jacuzzi yib had hair and other stuff in it. We got to the bed and had to pull the mattress out a little in order to get to a power outlet. We found a lot of disgusting things behind including half of a condom wrapper what appeared to be mouse dropping along with a lot more. We thoroughly made sure the bed itself was actually clean which it was. I wish I could have given a better review because other than the cleanliness the room had a lot of potential. One more note, our room was on the 6th floor so we took the elevator. You may wanna steer clear because the thing felt like it was about to fall, shaking and making a lot of strange noises, but then again the building was built in the 1800s.