Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Parade day hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
If you want a hotel close to the bars that's good enough to slump your drunken body for a few hour in between drinks, this is the place for you. Otherwise, probably not the best. Hotel room reservation for 2 beds turned into 1 bed. We got lucky and they had 1 room available with 2 beds so we got switched, but I'm guessing someone else who wanted 2 beds got boned. Also, kinda dirty, had a hole it the ceiling of the bathroom, and the elevator broke.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location & beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: I loved this hotel when it was opened before. It's beautiful. I even asked for coffee the night I arrived and was told there would be coffee in AM
Cons: Heat and coffee
Location: nice location
The room had just about no heat. It w as a freezing night & the heater made little difference. I called the front desk & a worker brought an alarm &a blanket. I wore socks & my boots & gloves plus the blanket and still had a miserable night. When I went down for breakfast they had waffles cereal coffee &juice. It 's not hard to have toast or donuts instead of things everyone does not like.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, United States of America

Downtown Binghamton.

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Nice woodwork and beautiful old building. Location.
Cons: So many aspects were very old inside.
Location: Great downtown location. Walking distance to microbreweries and places for breakfast.
Friendly staff at check-in. Convient, free parking. We walked to Galaxy Bwering Company in the evening. We walked to breakfast and coffee places on Chenango Street in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A different view of downtown Binghamton

Posted Nov 22, 2016
This hotel has a vibe that it once was very pristine and luxurious some number of decades ago, but has strayed away from that in recent years as State street has become the place to be for all college students in the area. Being 25 years old, I still enjoyed the location of being on the same block as all the bars, but those looking for a more quiet experience should know what to expect. The staff was all very accommodating and the room was adequate, but a mattress and television upgrade may be in store. The hookah bar lounge on the first floor was a pleasant surprise and we found ourselves hanging around there longer than we expected after spotting it. The service was great and they have a decent selection of beers to purchase as well. All in all, I had no idea what to expect, but enjoyed our stay here for one night while visiting some friends in the area. The hotel exudes that it was once a very lively, late evening destination for anyone in the area, but nowadays the staff are doing their best to adapt to demographic changes in the area, and I commend them for their efforts.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Don't stay here!

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: There is nothing to like. The hotel staff did offer to pay for us to park in the municipal lot however it is a far walk in the cold.
Cons: The bed was low to the ground and old. The bathroom was old and not clean. Everything was old and unclean. On the block with all the bars.
Location: Close to Binghamton university.
The hotel looks beautiful on the website however it is not. It is old, dirty, smells and in desperate need of renovations. The phone wasn't even connected to the wall. It was just there as a prop. In addition there is no parking. Guests were parked up on the sidewalk surrounding the building. You have to hope your car is still there in the morning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Anyone here?

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
Lobby was left dark except for 2 wall sconces. No one at desk at night or morning. Note at desk to leave key or call this number if problem. Room smelled like cigarette smoke, remote did not work. We had an emergency so had not planned on an overnight. Room card stated we could get toiletries at front desk. When we asked, we were told there was a store up the street. Breakfast was pot of coffee, powdered creamer, machine OJ, a waffle iron and 3 plastic forks. No one around. Really dark, grim and shabby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Everything was perfectly comfortable, and I really enjoyed that it had the feel of a bygone era.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MD

Stay Away

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: They should not be able to charge $100 a night for this dump
Location: Downtown area with bars all round if you care for that. The Arena is also close by.
This hotel is in total disrepair. The A/C did not work. The refrigerator did not work. The elevator made ghastly sounds as it trudged it's way up and down the shaft. The parking lot is being reconstructed but it doesn't matter because the 5 spaces they have in the back of the hotel are all they need. There were no guests other than myself and another couple. The place feels and looks abandoned. The pictures on the internet are a lie. The place is just creepy. /
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Price, but definitely a case of "you get what you pay for"
Cons: Condition of room.
Room was dirty. Bathroom door not only didn't lock, but also didn't fully shut. There was no toilet paper in the room at check in. Housekeeping did not come around until 7 pm the following night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels