Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel very friendly - the salt spa was fun

Posted Apr 9, 2017
The front desk was very friendly and knew a lot about the local history as well as places to eat.
4 out of 5
by Kathlen

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
The room was lovely, and very clean. The staff was very friendly. The shower water pressure was the strongest I've ever had. Just 2 things that could have been better: The bed was backed up to the window sill and uncomfortable to sit in. Add a headboard. Also, we had a fireplace room, but there were 2 small chairs separated by an end table. If you are promoting 'cozy and romantic' you really need a sofa or loveseat so we could sit together. Thank you!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
I wish Restaurant was open at night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Nicest you'll find in the Binghamton area!

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: the setting and surrounding hiking and vistas were beautiful --
Cons: the mattress a bit too soft, but overall the room was comfortable.
Location: hiking on the grounds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

What a find! Excellent value.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Our family was in Binghamton for a college visit, and the chain hotel we'd used before was booked. Thank goodness! It gave us an opportunity to find Traditions! Gorgeous view, elegant setting, friendly staff. Our room was comfortable with great pillows and lotions from the spa in the updated bathroom. Nice dinner at a fair price in the tavern. We chose to have dinner rather than go to the spa, but maybe we'll do that next time. The most unique feature is the setting: a former IBM meeting center up in the hills, with a beautiful golf course and hiking trails on site. We took a brisk walk to enjoy the fall colors in the morning. This region of NYS must have really been something before all those jobs disappeared. We only stayed 1 night, but would go back for a weekend to enjoy it again. If you're in the area, skip the boring places near the highway. Let the wonderful staff at Traditions treat you to an elegant experience for nearly the same price!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and adorable room. Friendly and sweet staff

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was amazing except for the continental breakfast. We paid about $20. more for the breakfast, but it was no better than what you would get at a LaQuinta or Quality Inn - we went there for my daughter's birthday and she was really disappointed in the breakfast - we thought it was going to be the buffet that they talked about on their website - we misunderstood and missed it by a day - we had breakfast Saturday morning, not Sunday morning - they should not charge for a continental breakfast. But it was one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in and the people at the front desk - both at night and in the morning - were really personable and sweet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Historic, renovated hotel with beautiful views.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Excellent staff, good food, used to be IBM's old "Homestead". Loved the history of the place and it's so nice that it is now booked for weddings. Rooms are small but very clean. Would stay there again. Salt Spa is on premises too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and Loud

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
I may be an unusual case but I had a horrible stay at this hotel. We were given an extremely tiny dingy dark room right near the spa entrance so it was loud and people were entering and exiting constantly. I might have well stayed at a motel 6. The room had a strange smell and immediately kicked up my allergies, which I only get from dust. The room hardly fit a king size bed and there was only one small desk chair to sit on. The bathroom had a shower and no tub. 3 of the washcloths that were in our bathroom had makeup stains on them. There was a wedding going on the first night of our stay and it felt as though the whole hotel was only open for the wedding. We decided to go out for the night since the facility was not available to us so we asked the man at the front desk for suggestions. He was unable to provide any suggestions except for a dive bar down the street. He also continued to recommend the hotel's options which were clearly not open for our use. For the price I paid this hotel was a joke. I will most definitely not be returning.
2 out of 5
by christina from Philly

Brick beds

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
The bed was hard and lopsided. On the website it says they have premium pillow top mattresses- that is a lie. The facilities are beautiful but the rooms are old and outdated unless of course you get one of the more expensive rooms that is not even offered on the hotels.com website. It is a crime that after such a terrible stay at the hotel doesn't offer you a refund, hotels dot com doesn't give you a refund, you're kind of just out of your money. Do yourself a favor stay at the Marriott down the road or the Microtel. The only upside is that the staff is wonderfully kind and excessively helpful.