Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Nicest you'll find in the Binghamton area!

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: the setting and surrounding hiking and vistas were beautiful --
Cons: the mattress a bit too soft, but overall the room was comfortable.
Location: hiking on the grounds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

What a find! Excellent value.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Our family was in Binghamton for a college visit, and the chain hotel we'd used before was booked. Thank goodness! It gave us an opportunity to find Traditions! Gorgeous view, elegant setting, friendly staff. Our room was comfortable with great pillows and lotions from the spa in the updated bathroom. Nice dinner at a fair price in the tavern. We chose to have dinner rather than go to the spa, but maybe we'll do that next time. The most unique feature is the setting: a former IBM meeting center up in the hills, with a beautiful golf course and hiking trails on site. We took a brisk walk to enjoy the fall colors in the morning. This region of NYS must have really been something before all those jobs disappeared. We only stayed 1 night, but would go back for a weekend to enjoy it again. If you're in the area, skip the boring places near the highway. Let the wonderful staff at Traditions treat you to an elegant experience for nearly the same price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Historic, renovated hotel with beautiful views.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Excellent staff, good food, used to be IBM's old "Homestead". Loved the history of the place and it's so nice that it is now booked for weddings. Rooms are small but very clean. Would stay there again. Salt Spa is on premises too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TINY room

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Location: Johnson City, NY
Room was the smallest one I've ever stayed in in a motel/hotel. There wasn't even a small refrigerator or microwave in the room. The price for the one night that we were there was $172.00 when all the charges were added. In the room the guest services book stated that there was a free continental breakfast. When we asked the girl at the desk she very snotty stated that it was not included with our room and we could purchase it for $10.95 each. With the price for that TINY room seems the least they could do is include a continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Quiet, clean, comfortable, gas fireplace in room was a lovely touch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Maybe my expectations were too high

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Pros: The staff and the location
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: I was visiting family in the area so the location is great. The old IBM glen area behind the hotel is beautiful
I expected more than an average hotel so my disappointment may be my own fault. The room was average, the TV quality was poor, and the room was not clean. The old Keurig basket from the previous guest was still in the coffee pot. There were Q-tips from the previous guest on the floor of the bathroom under the sink. The high point was the staff. The reception desk staff was friendly and personable. We were only there one night so maybe we caught them on an off day, but we probably would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Went up to visit my son during BU's parents weekend and it was comparatively priced to the dives close to campus but light years better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Drooped daughter off at college...

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Beautiful restful hote after an exhausting day..clean plush resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

A place to stay

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Liked the idea that is was close to the golf course and could be useful for those that golf and those that just want to relax
Cons: More dining room space would be nice without having to reserve a spot!
Location: Wasn't there for this reason but it is close to everything near Binghamton
I thought the hotel was quaint and quiet. Play the golf course it is very scenic but play the blues for length. I will definitely go back! Room was clean and everything looked good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Lovely Historic Resort

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Historic context. Professional staff. Comfortable room.
Cons: A cabinet or counter where toiletries could be stored.
Location: Easy access to anywhere in the Triple Cities. We visited many local eateries and all were accessible by freeway.
We only stayed one night, but our experience at The Traditions was memorable. The staff was attentive and able to deal professionally with any request. The room was a bit small, but nicely appointed and very comfortable. The bathroom was clean, but needs more counter space, particularly for women's cosmetics and hair supplies. Loved the grounds and the attempt to tell the story of The Homestead so as to put our visit in historic context.