Ratings based on 397 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location in Homewood, suburb of Birmingham.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Overall great experience. Front desk staff friendly and helpful, when request for extra towels. However, we had a missing desk lightbulb that did not get replaced when requested. Maintenance did unclog the slow shower drain, when requested. Bartender was very helpful when asked for wine glasses to take to our room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Nice hotel in Homewood. Great walking area with plenty of local shops and eateries with a unique experiences. Very convenient drive/uber ride to most key places in Birmingham.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Sad for Starwood Brand

Posted Jul 25, 2016
This was our third stay at this hotel and unfortunately, we will not be returning. The hotel rooms are worn out and the infrastructure of the hotel is also aging. The internet worked intermittently, the in house phones were out for 1 day and the cable didn't get reception on all channels. For two days the front desk was unable to make the electronic room keys. It appears that this hotel's business model works with a skeletal crew that is now overwhelmed by a degrading infrastructure. Surely the Starwood brand can do better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel. We apologize for any issues that you encountered while you were here. We make every attempt to overcome the technical issues that you encountered. Please accept our apologies.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Better than most in the area. Don't trust pics!

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Better than most hotels b/ween 3-4 stars. Great location for walking-distance restaurants! Friendly, safe area. Not for those used to 4-5 star hotels
Cons: Better staff training with handling customers. Fix the phones in the rooms/floors! Get rid of heavy, sliding bathroom doors. More storage space please
Location: Plenty great eats very nearby. And a Piggly Wiggly at walking distance for any extra needs (ie; bathroom stuff, snacks, wine!)
Although it was a busy weekend due to Sloss Music Festival at the time, had to wait 30 minutes before being checked in! Even worse, a group that came after us were checked in sooner, making our room-of-choice (dbl queen, bigger square footage) unavailable! All this after advanced reservations were made via Expedia. Front staff were not as welcoming as expected at such a location, and did not offer any sympathy for said inconvenience. A line started forming as we continued to wait to be checked in, as there was only one person up front helping to check visitors to their rooms. We stayed for three nights, and noticed that every day the room was turned over, we saw less and less towels being replenished. Tidiness per turnover (per day) was also very inconsistent. We at least saw an attempt to organize the bathroom sink on the second morning. Could not easily request for additional towels (or any other items) very easily as the phone in the room was not working. Phone near elevator was also inactive. We had to call from our cell phones to the front desk to file complaints, which were never resolved. Pro pics on site show what looks to be a larger bathroom area than it actually is. Sliding bathroom door (heavy) was NOT a good touch. BEWARE the slow water refill after flushing, which was explained later as standard practice in the area (Birmingham, AL) for "Greener" attempts. Beds were comfy. Small closet provided very little storage space. Most things will stay in luggage
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel. We strive for challenge free stay and during this visit we did not achieve that for you. We are sorry for that and are glad you found some positive with the area and our surroundings.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Hotel is in great location - within walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. Only complaint was lack of housekeeping visits. Had to stalk their carts for towels, coffee, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review of our hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Happy with my stay. This is a great place as is always the case in this hotel chain. I love the way they have out things together in a smart efficient way, a very European feel to this band.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star rating. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, affordable, urban hotel stay

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Not too stoked about a diminishing cash option. Even if it would be for a cash deposit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Tim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star rating of our hotel. Your time is very much appreciated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Tim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 Star rating.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Tim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 Star rating
5 out of 5
by Dari

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Tim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star rating