Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Would not go again

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: It was nicer on the inside. Was close to Birmingham center. Was close to restaurants
Cons: - Doors did not feel secure & safe - Walls so thin you could hear everything - Heating was not turned on so room was freezing - Scruffy furnishings
Location: Close to Birmingham and casino and restaurants
Greeted by rude staff who then made me pay £100 (was not warned of this before) as a deposit in case of damages. Made me and my friends feel unwelcome and I did not feel safe giving over £100 but had no where else to go and so had to. Hotel looks very scruffy from the outside and not much better inside.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northampton

Very tired, Arden room

Posted Oct 27, 2016
The hotel staff were excellent and the room itself was large and a good size bathroom.the wifi was free and it was actually good speed the only thing that let the hotel down was the cleanliness of the room, everyday cleaning was good ( beds, bathroom etc) but the carpet and curtains were very grubby needed a good wash and there was even blood on the ceiling( don't know how that would of got there) it is a shame to give this review because the staff were very accommodating and helpful and I think the hotel lets them down as well.The hotel was in a good position for visiting the Bullring,Chocolate Factory and the Cricket ground all within about 3 miles of hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Clean and convenient to town centre

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Decor depressing
Location: Short taxi ride to town Plenty of choices to eat nearby
Clean, quiet but decor poor Clean towels daily Tea and coffee available Staff friendly and very helpful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from croydon

Enough for sleep only

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Didn't have opportunity to explore around.
Was 2 adults and a child. For a night sleep only was enough...very clean but the bathroom need some refurbishment. Very tired.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfort

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Good hotel with friendly staff, the rooms are old but are kept clean amd tidy. Breakfast is very good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The rooms were clean and okay

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
We became very tired and was glad to be home as we were opposite the hotel reception which must of been used by people for cab drop off and pick ups so had to put up with doors slamming through Friday and Saturday night till the early hours as the rooms opened straight out into the car park and this area was rather noisy till early hours so hard to get up in the morning to attend what we came up there for We chose here due to price and the University was meant to be within walking distance however none of the reception staff could tell us how to get to the university by foot or by bus when asked on the Saturday as wanted a break from driving so quite disappointed there
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent accommodation

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staff. Warm and clean room very comfortable and quiet. Easy parking and access to room. Will stay again
5 out of 5
by David from Cumbria

A GREAT STAY, ONE TO GO BACK TO.

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was to much trouble. Room was lovely, airy and clean, beds extremely comfy. Although the hotel was on the main Hagley Road it was very quiet in the room. Would definitely go back again when visiting relatives
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to restaurants

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Price, efficiency of staff on reception.
Cons: More staff on breakfast.
Location: Useful locality. Used it as a base to visit Edgbaston cricket ground, 40 mins walk away.
Hotel room was clean, staff were good, breakfast mediocre, a bit noisy because of proximity to main road, and on our visit noisy people through night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Polite staff

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Facility is good also the service but the carpet is worn and the bed very squeaky