Ratings based on 1,918 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from derby

Reasonable

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Reasonable hotel for the price. Great location in the centre right next to train station. Bit of a old smell to the place especially on the 8th floor. The hotel was quite hot at night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, UK

Pick Somewhere else.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: Close access to New St Station.
This was a mistake Had a job interivew in Birmingham, so thought I’d be okay booking a cheap hotel. I lowered my expectations but still had them disapointed. The facade, what was clearly supposed to be the entrance has been leased out to shops, the revolving door stuck onto what was a side door seems somewhat out of place. This leads to a lobby, although dated, that throws to a past for this hotel that was greater than it is now. Sadly even this illusion this is somewhat destroyed by “warning” signs about anti-social behaviour and room repair charges… If you need those sorts of signs, its a warning that you’re attracting the wrong sort of crowd. Getting through the lobby results in disappointment. Carpets are clearly warn and marked to the point where they should have been replaced years ago. This theme continues into the room. The room signs prided itself on being a smoking room, which I wasn’t asked if I wanted (Had I have known in this day and age that any hotel in the UK still had “Smoking rooms” I would have expected to have been asked if I wanted one rather than simply being placed in one - but seriously what kind of modern hotel isn’t 100% smoke free these days? More fool me for thinking this was a modern hotel I guess. A clear rattling noise can be heard from in the bed when sat on, although he sheets on the top looked nice enough. Wallpaper was peeling at the seams. I don’t know what hotel those room pictures were taken of, but it definitely was not th
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Central

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Very nice choice for those who's looking for a central location (3 minutes walk from Birmingham New street station) and/or are going for a concert (Barclaycard arena is 10 minutes away). Room are big although not properly cleaned. Affordable and decente breakfast. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bedford

Situated in the city centre.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: It was convenient - 5 minutes walk from the station and 15minutes walk from the ICC. It was clean and comfortable.
Cons: The hotel is in dire need of refurbishment. The carpets are worn and the paintwork is chipped.
Location: It has a great location right in the centre of the city, close to shops and places to visit.
This hotel suited my needs. I was attending a conference at the ICC, so I needed an overnight stay. I didn't have dinner or breakfast there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good, basic, budget hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Does the job for a reasonable price. Very handy for city centre and new street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Cheap but not cheerful

Posted Jun 26, 2017
The hotel really needs some work, the bathroom was falling apart, the air con was broke resulting in us boiling all night. No batteries in the remote resulting in us having to go to reception
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Britaina hotel Birmingham

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Good location not walking distance from Birmingham new Street station the night staff were not very approachable the windows in the room looked like not been cleaned in 6 months the bathroom was dirty who ever cleaned the room should not be working there best thing was the breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly acceptable inner city accommodation.

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Cons: It just needs a bit of a refresh
A perfectly acceptable inner city hotel literally a stones throw from Birmingham New Street. These hotels were state of the art once, but that was a long time ago and they really need a refresh. But hey - I'd prefer to stay in a place that looks a bit lived in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't stay here again

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Small, stuffy 9th floor room with no window. VERY thin walls between rooms. Dated hotel. Wouldn't recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

smelly room with no window

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: lots
Location: city centre
smelly room with no window struggled to even get my pushchair through the main entrance as they only had 1 revolving door which made it difficult for the pushair and the person who's pushing it to fit and get through together.