Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT BOOK, WORST EVER

Posted Feb 6, 2017
room dirty, funiture broken, stained bed clothes, no internet, staff dont care, we checked out 2 days early
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, cheap and friendly with it

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Price, location, staff.
Cons: Not sure if the hotel is non-smoking but the lift stank of cigarette smoke. An overall renovation much needed but it'll last a while longer, no doubt.
Location: Very close to both train and bus stations, a short walk to the town centre - ideally located, in fact.
The Britannia is a nationwide chain of hotels from another era, usually located near train or bus stations, in the case of Wolverhampton, both. An ambitious investor with very, very deep pockets might renovate them all but, as it stands, they provide very affordable and convenient accommodation. Here the staff were nice, the WiFi worked in the lobby and the water came out superhot to provide a tub full of water in next to no time. The TV reception was iffy – a member of staff came to fix it reasonably quickly. All in all, at this price perfectly acceptable for a short stay a short walk from the station/town centre.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A step back in time

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: close to station
Cons: everything
Felt like I had entered a time machine and when I left I had entered the 70s in Wolverhampton. Very old hotel that needs refurbishing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from spain

Awful and dirty

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Brittania hotels are normally passable when they are inexpensive. My room was not cleaned properly on arrival and a crisp packet from the previous guest remained under the desk until i left.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: Loads of food shops to go eat Local bus and train station No parking for the hotel, which was'nt good for someone like myself.
Room was quite cold Rooms are very old Annoying that you can't bring food from outside the hotel in your rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was close to the shopping mall, banks

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Close to shops
Cons: It is an old building and all facilities working but old. I don't think anything can be done about that.
Location: The next building to the hotel is a cinema, I was tempted to go in and watch a film but didn't have enough time: I went window shopping though.
I booked a single standard room. It was comfortable and good for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ny

Near transportation and town center

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Smells of smoke, no remote for Tv, bed uncomfortable. room spacious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location great

Posted May 13, 2016
Could do with some improvement though the location is great for non-car travellors
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west midlands

No. No. No.

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Nothing like photos on site. Extremely uncomfortable bed. Bathroom door doesn't even close. Ridiculously small TV low down on the wall so not able to watch properly. Terrible night sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2016
The hotel was good but when we entered the room is was freezing cold and we had to wait for the room to warm up