Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Friendly staff and great location!

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Wonderful location close to the university. I frequently come up for educational purposes and decided to stay in a B&B for the first time. The owner was welcoming and personable and provided a great environment and stay. I will definitely recommend this B&B to others and be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

B and B near college

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: The decorations and the friendliness!
Location: Lots of restaurants, a park. We were there for a college visit and the college was very close!
IT was a great price and a beautiful place to stay. The food was great and the company was interesting. We would definitely go back again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Five Points location

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Cons: See above.
There was no on premise staff until breakfast. If it were not for another guest out front to explain the process, we would have been very disappointed. After traveling, the last thing I want to do is try to contact somebody by phone to try and find out where your room and key is located. You may want to disclose this when booking. Otherwise, nice stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Cobb Lane B&B was very pleasant to stay at.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Very Victorian and period decorated.
Cons: Can't say there was anything I didn't like.
Location: Police station located across the street which adds to the safety of the neighborhood. Located near good restaurants within walking distance.
The only complaint I would have is the air conditioning set at too low of a temperature causing the room to be too cold. The cook did an excellent job on the scrambled eggs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Problems with check in

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: Close to UAB is a plus
My reservation was for this facility. I was sent to another place so I had to haul my luggage back into my car...not an apology. I am sure if the problem was with Expedia or with the Inn. The room was incredible cold. AC running. Couldn't turn it off.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Magnolia TX

Just ok; service disappointing; mediocre breakfast

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Close to the university and bars/restaurants so you can walk. Location is across from the Police station so we felt pretty safe walking at night.
Nicely decorated, good location, walking distance to restaurants.The owner was pleasant but since managing 2 different locations, no one is always onsite and the owner is not always available and the voice mailbox full, so after flying in from out of state, we would have liked to leave our luggage inside since we were 10 mins early, but instead had to leave and come back later; also luckily we were there to provide 2 different sets of guests waiting to get in a secondary number to reach the owner so they could get in.On the first night we arrived the tub was stopped up in the shower, so we brought it to the attention of the owner the following morning but it was not attended to (nor the room freshened) until we asked again the second morning, so 2 nights of standing water in the shower. The toiletries were scarce, as there was 1 small bar of soap and 1 small bottle of shampoo provided for 2 people for 4 nights; good thing we brought our own soap and toiletries. We opted to not have our bed sheets changed the entire time to conserve, however just 1 set of towels and washcloths were provided the entire 4 nights. I asked for 2 more bath towels which the owner gladly provided.Bottles of water/soda were provided in the refrigerator but we are not soda drinkers and they ran out of water 2x. I stated up front I was a non-meat eater but had to request each morning to have meat removed from breakfast which usually consisted of small amount of eggs, sausage, fresh fruit and a biscuit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

better than any hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: it was very close to restaurants, and the hospital
Cons: shower curtain was a little narrow , cant get away from it when showering
Location: 6 blocks to the hospital. one block to 5 points
it was like staying the night i a musuem, great. and it had everything the hotels have. much more personal.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tupelo, MS

A step back in time

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Walking distance to many great restaurants. I highly recommend T-Bone's steak sandwiches, Mellow Mushroom's pizza and Insomnia's cookies!
Modern amenities in a classic setting, in a great part of town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Alabama

Nice B&B

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Location and price
Cons: It would have been nice if we had had ceiling fans. The room got a little stuffy
Location: Lots to eat and see and do
Nice B&B in an historic mansion right in the middle of the 5 Points South area of Birmingham. Close to lots of places to eat (of all prices and types) and not far from UAB area, Regions field, and other places of interest.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Unique Victorian B&B downtown

Posted Sep 11, 2016
My sister and I stayed one night at Cobb Lane (passing through Birmingham on the way to Dallas) and we had a great experience. It was without question the most unique and unusual place I've stayed. The decor makes it feel like you've stepped back in time to the turn of the century! You can easily walk downtown, and there's a great porch to sit on and plan your day. Breakfast was fab too.. Don't miss out and stay in a generic hotel! :)