Ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tucson az

Just a step away from new st station

Posted Sep 12, 2017
100 yrds from the station , easy walk via the lifts there is a bar downstairs and restaurants within easy reach, the hotel has a lift and 24 hour reception, the bed was hard as a rock but I only stopped for 1 night, the Balti triangle is only a $5 ride away with uber, the room was quite spacious and clean. It is noisy in the morning/afternoon rush hour but that was expected as your right opposite the station.i would definitely stay there again if I was just visiting for a few days
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Good enough for cost paid, however bathroom floor was dirty. Good location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We arrived to find the toilet lid was not attached to the toilet. Upon lifting the seat we found it was covered in urine underneath. The lights on one side of the room were not working and the old school lift did not feel safe. The room itself did not feel very clean. I definitely will pay more to stay somewhere else next time. The whole place was just a disappointment
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rugeley Staffs

In the city centre

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Nicely situated close to the main railway station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Handy as v close to train station.

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Enjoyed my stay mostly but TV broke down.didn't like lack of wardrobe.....were hangers but still. Comfortable bed n excellent night sleep. However as paid cash, wasn't impressed by having to hand over £50 deposit .. Room checked before given bk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good location ideal

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Stayed one night good value for money everything you need walking distance
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Basic but very convenient.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Just don't expect luxury accommodations. It's a basic but clean accommodation in an old building.
Location: Oldest movie theater in Birmingham is two doors away. Went to an evening movie.
Stayed here as it's across the street from New Street Station--caught an early morning train to the airport. Almost cancelled on the basis of the outside--old building on a block that seems primed for urban renewal. But the room was very clean and quiet with basic supplies and a reasonably comfortable bed. So if you just need an inexpensive place to stay on the way to an early morning flight, this will work. Wi-fi was adequate. Don't worry that it says you can only use it for 8 hours--it keeps renewing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shrewsbury

Basic hotel, no aircon, quite noisy

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Convenient to station.
Cons: Decor. Room cooling.
Location: Convenient for station
Basic hotel, very hot - no aircon, quite noisy. Faded decor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the BBC and Train Station

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Stayed for 1 night, comfy bed, clean bathroom but the breakfast was terrible
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No aircon and basic facilities only

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
I paid just over £40 for a double room for one night. The hotel is situated right by the Birmingham new street station so great if you want to be close to the station or the bullring. Very basic facilities. No aircon in room on a particularly hot day so did not sleep well and needed the window open. Quite noisy from passing traffic and people. Cheap hotel so don't expect much. The pictures on the website were not like my room. Next time I will pay a little extra for a different hotel - not worth going cheap.